What actually happened with Young's fumble at the goal line?

#76
#76
If it was ruled a fumble, and Young recovered, it should have been brought back to the spot of the fumble. Offense can’t advance on a fumble.

The only way Bama could get a TD would be if they ruled that he had possession crossing the plain, which I don’t think he had.

Either way, there was no way the refs were going to let Bama lose that game. That was obvious all night.

The offense can't advance a fumble on 4th down IF a player other than the ball carrier recovers. But it wasn't 4th down and Young recovered his own fumble.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BigOrangeMojo
#77
#77
The offense can't advance a fumble on 4th down IF a player other than the ball carrier recovers. But it wasn't 4th down and Young recovered his own fumble.
Seen it ruled regardless of who recovers or what down it is. Consistency maybe an issue, or maybe depends on who’s playing is how they call it?
 
#78
#78
Seen it ruled regardless of who recovers or what down it is. Consistency maybe an issue, or maybe depends on who’s playing is how they call it?

Didn't UT beat App St because someone (Dobbs?) fumbled into the endzone and Jalen Hurd recovered?
 
#80
#80
Seen it ruled regardless of who recovers or what down it is. Consistency maybe an issue, or maybe depends on who’s playing is how they call it?
I've never seen it ruled a TD when someone else beside the carrier recovers on 4th down. Can you show the example you're referring to?
 
#81
#81
They actually didn’t call a fumble. Because a touchdown was the initial call, and the official said it’s stands which mean they couldn’t “prove” that he fumbled.

If they would have called a fumble and a recovery by Alabama in the end zone that’s how the official would have worded it after replay was over
I guess the replay officials watched a different replay than what I saw. The ball is clearly out of his hands before he crosses the goal line, and should have been ruled a fumble. Once the mass of humanity was pulled from the pile, whoever had possession of the ball should have, (1)given Alabama a touchdown, or (2) Tennessee given possession at the 20 yard line. The replays on tv never showed who had the ball after the pile was pulled apart.
 
#82
#82
What game were you watching? The official said confirmed, then said it was a fumble that Young recovered himself, which he did. Don’t be that guy. Go rewatch it if you need to. They got it right.
i didn’t say they didn’t get it right? I just answered the question. Confirmed means there wasn’t inclusive evidence to change the call, which mean they stuck with the initial Td. I never heard the ref mention a fumble is what I was saying. I’m not arguing the call.
 
#84
#84
Actually the referee said the call of touchdown was CONFIRMED. And if the ESPN jokers could've shut their trap long enough for everyone to hear, he went on to say that it was confirmed because Alabama recovered the ball in the end zone.

Also, if McElroy had a clue what he was talking about, he would've known that Heup wasn't arguing that he needed his time out back. The referee clearly said "Tennessee will not be charged a time out." Heup was arguing that the ruling was, in his words (and quite correctly) "********."

I'm surprised by how many people commenting on this thread don't know how football or replay works. Once it's established that there's a fumble, if there isn't irrefutable evidence of a recovery, it goes to who comes out of the pile with the ball...which was Tennessee. There absolutely was no evidence that Young made a clear recovery, but the officials looked at the replay for less than 30 seconds before determining that Young did make a clear recovery. Yet another screw job, which has become the norm.

Oh wow I didn’t hear that part. Had multiple people and kids being loud, which was actually a good thing cause I realized how much more I enjoyed watching the game without being able to here those clowns
 
#85
#85
It appears to me that the officials didn’t even realize there had been a fumble until they saw the replay. And then they went into damage control mode. But by then there was no way to know who actually recovered the ball because they hadn’t even known to check. So thy just made up their explanation to cover their own usual incompetence
 
#86
#86
They ruled it a fumble, there are pictures that then show Young holding the ball in both hands in the endzone, then players start diving in and the ball changes hands in the scrum. But none of that matters, he had the ball, and was down in the endzone. The play is over, does not matter what happens after that. Therefore the touchdown was confirmed, because there was video evidence showing Young with the ball, in the endzone
 
#87
#87
They ruled it a fumble, there are pictures that then show Young holding the ball in both hands in the endzone, then players start diving in and the ball changes hands in the scrum. But none of that matters, he had the ball, and was down in the endzone. The play is over, does not matter what happens after that. Therefore the touchdown was confirmed, because there was video evidence showing Young with the ball, in the endzone
The video I saw showed Young laying on his side in the end zone facing another prone UT player. There was no view of the ball or who actually had possession. At that point, it belongs to whoever has it at the end of the unstack
 
#89
#89
Watch the video, watch the ball come free, then Young lands on it and has it in both hands. At that point, it’s over. Does not matter what happens next. The announcers showed it multiple times last night, and he clearly has it prior to the players diving in and the fight for it.

Not everything is a conspiracy against us. This was the right call.
 
#90
#90

I honestly don’t know how he can be as reserved as he was there at this point. I have never seen one team be the subject of so many questionable calls in my life. And consistently, over a sustained period of time to boot. The piss poor officiating that Tennessee has been on the wrong side of in one season is literally stranger than fiction.
 
#95
#95
Can you link to this rule?

We both know that aint the rule. :) You have to have clear possession, which entails a grasp on the football. If clear possession isn't established, then yeah, its who comes out of the pile with it since that's the first time clear possession is attained.

The question is whether Young had clear possession in the endzone. A couple of the times where Young appears to have possession, the ball slightly moves or its sitting up like in pic 2 above. In fumble situations like this, its who comes out of the pile with it 99 out of 100 times.

Did Young meet the definition of possession? Quite possibly. Did he have clear possession by the rules? I couldnt get there. The closest video proof to Young having a grasp was when the ball was poking up. Is that clear possession?
 
Last edited:
#96
#96
Whoever got burnt on that 3rd and 15 honestly did. You just hit a huge long TD pass to get right back in it, you have a 3rd and 15, should be an easy stop. Probably don't have enough to win in the end but the score is a lot more respectable
I about lost it on that play. 3rd a 15, the defense has ONE job, keep the play in front of you. How do you let a receiver get behind you there.... 🤬🤬🤬🤬🤬
 
#97
#97
Watch the video, watch the ball come free, then Young lands on it and has it in both hands. At that point, it’s over. Does not matter what happens next. The announcers showed it multiple times last night, and he clearly has it prior to the players diving in and the fight for it.

Not everything is a conspiracy against us. This was the right call.

This is simply untrue. I've rewatched the broadcast review footage multiple times. It clearly shows that Young "must have" recovered based on where his body was, the ball was, his hands were, etc, but no one single angle they showed provides definitive evidence that Young had possession of that ball. Do I think he did? Most likely he did. That doesn't matter.

He's on top of the ball. That doesn't matter.

His arms are in the right place. That doesn't matter.

The Vol who recovered arrived late. That doesn't matter.

Someone post the screen cap that shows him in possession of the ball - with it secure in his hands. I haven't seen it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoAllan
#99
#99
This is simply untrue. I've rewatched the broadcast review footage multiple times. It clearly shows that Young "must have" recovered based on where his body was, the ball was, his hands were, etc, but no one single angle they showed provides definitive evidence that Young had possession of that ball. Do I think he did? Most likely he did. That doesn't matter.

He's on top of the ball. That doesn't matter.

His arms are in the right place. That doesn't matter.

The Vol who recovered arrived late. That doesn't matter.

Someone post the screen cap that shows him in possession of the ball - with it secure in his hands. I haven't seen it.

Then they should have announced that the call stood instead of confirming it. Either way it's still a touchdown. What there definitely wasn't is any view that suggests that Young didn't have it, which would have been necessary for an overturned call.
 

VN Store



Back
Top