What actually happened with Young's fumble at the goal line?

#27
#27
They changed the call to a fumble but said Bryce recovered it for a TD. The original call was never a fumble. How was it clearly Bryce landed on it? If you change the call to a fumble, shouldn't you then go back and say "who had had the ball after the pile was pulled apart?". Because there certainly was no clear recovery by Bryce imo to say he for sure had the TD

He certainly may have “fell” on the ball (key word may). However they showed several replays from a few different angles and nowhere did any of them show him with “control” of the ball at any time once the ball started moving.

I don’t see how in the world they could give the ball to anyone except the player who came up with it.
 
#29
#29
Didn't know falling on the ball with your stomach was recover. Thought you had to actually be holding it in your arms, but who knows 🤷‍♂️

The end zone is a different animal. All kinds of quirky rules apply when the ball breaks the plane.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mickey1969
#34
#34
They changed the call to a fumble but said Bryce recovered it for a TD. The original call was never a fumble. How was it clearly Bryce landed on it? If you change the call to a fumble, shouldn't you then go back and say "who had had the ball after the pile was pulled apart?". Because there certainly was no clear recovery by Bryce imo to say he for sure had the TD
Are you sure? The original call was not overturned which means they believe he broke the plane if the end zone before losing control, IMO.
 
#35
#35
Possession is defined as:

The ball is in player possession when a player has the ball firmly in his grasp by holding or controlling it while contacting the ground inbounds.

Laying on or near the ball without grasping it is not possession at any level of football...
 
  • Like
Reactions: Vol17222
#41
#41
It was ruled a touchdown, the call of touchdown was confirmed. Young fumbled, and then fell on the ball, had possession, and then we dived in and knocked it free and took it. It was a touchdown, which is why the play was confirmed.

“Falling on a ball” is not exactly how a fumble recovery works.

If he was rolled over and his back “had possession” of the ball…….would that count?well no.

Just because he falls on it doesn’t mean he has any type of possession of the ball. We don’t even know if he had his hands on the ball at that point……it never showed anything of the sort.

We can “think” it all day long…..but in replay that doesn’t cut it……you need video prof and there wasn’t any.
 
#43
#43
“Falling on a ball” is not exactly how a fumble recovery works.

If he was rolled over and his back “had possession” of the ball…….would that count?well no.

Just because he falls on it doesn’t mean he has any type of possession of the ball. We don’t even know if he had his hands on the ball at that point……it never showed anything of the sort.

We can “think” it all day long…..but in replay that doesn’t cut it……you need video prof and there wasn’t any.

If there was a fumble (which there was), the next step would be to determine if he had "possession" and a clear recovery. If you can't do that, then its who comes out of the pile with it. By confirming the TD, the replay official determined that Bryce Young had a clear recovery and "possession" in the end one by laying on the ball. His first attempt to "grasp" it (which is what determines possession) wasnt until there were a couple of players in the pile, which would be inconclusive.
 
#45
#45
You can clearly see a Tennessee player with both arms wrapped around the ball after Alabama definitely starts losing control of the ball just before crossing the line. Alabama fumble & Tennessee recovery in endzone, referees touchdown Alabama! Its going to be almost impossible to beat Alabama and the referees.
 
#46
#46
Young is in the endzone, has the ball in his arms and is down. It’s a touchdown. Then we dive in, and knock the ball free.

It would be like Hooker getting a first down, them diving in after he’s down and knocking the ball free, and recovering it and saying they should have the ball.

It’s clear as day, he’s laying on the ground in the endzone with the ball in his arms under complete control, and then we dive in and knock it free, it’s a touchdown, it sucks, but it’s a touchdown
 
#49
#49
If there was a fumble (which there was), the next step would be to determine if he had "possession" and a clear recovery. If you can't do that, then its who comes out of the pile with it. By confirming the TD, the replay official determined that Bryce Young had a clear recovery and "possession" in the end one by laying on the ball. His first attempt to "grasp" it (which is what determines possession) wasnt until there were a couple of players in the pile, which would be inconclusive.

We know what “they” decided.

However none of the video shows “him” having any type of “possession.”

There are angles that certainly shows he might be laying on the ball…….but that does not determine “possession.”

Just because part of the QB is “on” the ball does not mean he has possession of the ball.

Maybe he landed on the ball……but does his belly count as possession? Because as I stated in my previous post we know his back would not count. He would at least have to have a hand on the ball or have it tucked into his body with control (without continued movement)……….I don’t think anyone saw that happen.
 
#50
#50
They actually didn’t call a fumble. Because a touchdown was the initial call, and the official said it’s stands which mean they couldn’t “prove” that he fumbled.

If they would have called a fumble and a recovery by Alabama in the end zone that’s how the official would have worded it after replay was over

Actually the referee said the call of touchdown was CONFIRMED. And if the ESPN jokers could've shut their trap long enough for everyone to hear, he went on to say that it was confirmed because Alabama recovered the ball in the end zone.

Also, if McElroy had a clue what he was talking about, he would've known that Heup wasn't arguing that he needed his time out back. The referee clearly said "Tennessee will not be charged a time out." Heup was arguing that the ruling was, in his words (and quite correctly) "********."

I'm surprised by how many people commenting on this thread don't know how football or replay works. Once it's established that there's a fumble, if there isn't irrefutable evidence of a recovery, it goes to who comes out of the pile with the ball...which was Tennessee. There absolutely was no evidence that Young made a clear recovery, but the officials looked at the replay for less than 30 seconds before determining that Young did make a clear recovery. Yet another screw job, which has become the norm.
 

VN Store



Back
Top