OldVolMan
Just Average Old Timer
- Joined
- Aug 26, 2019
- Messages
- 2,220
- Likes
- 4,233
They changed the call to a fumble but said Bryce recovered it for a TD. The original call was never a fumble. How was it clearly Bryce landed on it? If you change the call to a fumble, shouldn't you then go back and say "who had had the ball after the pile was pulled apart?". Because there certainly was no clear recovery by Bryce imo to say he for sure had the TD
Are you sure? The original call was not overturned which means they believe he broke the plane if the end zone before losing control, IMO.They changed the call to a fumble but said Bryce recovered it for a TD. The original call was never a fumble. How was it clearly Bryce landed on it? If you change the call to a fumble, shouldn't you then go back and say "who had had the ball after the pile was pulled apart?". Because there certainly was no clear recovery by Bryce imo to say he for sure had the TD
It was ruled a touchdown, the call of touchdown was confirmed. Young fumbled, and then fell on the ball, had possession, and then we dived in and knocked it free and took it. It was a touchdown, which is why the play was confirmed.
“Falling on a ball” is not exactly how a fumble recovery works.
If he was rolled over and his back “had possession” of the ball…….would that count?well no.
Just because he falls on it doesn’t mean he has any type of possession of the ball. We don’t even know if he had his hands on the ball at that point……it never showed anything of the sort.
We can “think” it all day long…..but in replay that doesn’t cut it……you need video prof and there wasn’t any.
If there was a fumble (which there was), the next step would be to determine if he had "possession" and a clear recovery. If you can't do that, then its who comes out of the pile with it. By confirming the TD, the replay official determined that Bryce Young had a clear recovery and "possession" in the end one by laying on the ball. His first attempt to "grasp" it (which is what determines possession) wasnt until there were a couple of players in the pile, which would be inconclusive.
They actually didn’t call a fumble. Because a touchdown was the initial call, and the official said it’s stands which mean they couldn’t “prove” that he fumbled.
If they would have called a fumble and a recovery by Alabama in the end zone that’s how the official would have worded it after replay was over