Mountain Mafia
Member
- Joined
- Sep 22, 2016
- Messages
- 14
- Likes
- 15
Then they should have announced that the call stood instead of confirming it. Either way it's still a touchdown. What there definitely wasn't is any view that suggests that Young didn't have it, which would have been necessary for an overturned call.
Except that's not the rule.
Let's say the call on the field was his knee was down on the 6 inch line but the play wasn't blown dead. At the end of the dogpile, UT comes out with the ball.
The replay officials go and look at it and determine it was a fumble. In that circumstance, Bama doesn't get to keep the ball because Young "might" have had it in the dogpile. The only way Bama would keep the ball in this situation is if they could confirm via evidence that a Bama player had clear possession.
Not necessarily, he may have fallen on top of the ball, but that doesn't prove he possession or control of the ball.Your example would only result in UT's possession if the replay showed a fumble and that UT made an immediate recovery. There was zero evidence that UT made an immediate recovery last night. If there was an immediate recovery it was by Young.
Then they got the call wrong to start with then. The ball was clearly coming out as he reached for the goal line! They missed the whole fumble call in that case.It doesn't need to prove it. The call on the field was TD. To overturn it would require evidence that UT recovered it. That's simply not there.
Your example would only result in UT's possession if the replay showed a fumble and that UT made an immediate recovery. There was zero evidence that UT made an immediate recovery last night. If there was an immediate recovery it was by Young.
It doesn't need to prove it. The call on the field was TD. To overturn it would require evidence that UT recovered it. That's simply not there.