Creeker
VP of Drunken Relations
- Joined
- Jan 7, 2011
- Messages
- 9,460
- Likes
- 8,468
Where was the offsides though. None of the screen shots show anyone offsides and someone already posted the rule on it. According to the rule they couldn't of called it on Medley. So where?
My question is how can a ref blow such an important call at such a crucial point in the game? Clearly, no one was off sides.
Medley came down the line to kick the ball, and went completely offsides before coming even with the ball and kicking it. His kicking foot went offsides while not in the act of kicking.
I just rewatched it 10x, that has to be what they called. Maybin "might" have crossed the line with his helmet, but from the angle there's no way to tell.
Medley came down the line to kick the ball, and went completely offsides before coming even with the ball and kicking it. His kicking foot went offsides while not in the act of kicking.
I just rewatched it 10x, that has to be what they called. Maybin "might" have crossed the line with his helmet, but from the angle there's no way to tell.
He can be, if his plant foot crosses, that's ok. If his whole body does, he's offsides.
His whole body crossed before he corrected his allignment prior to the kick
Medley came down the line to kick the ball, and went completely offsides before coming even with the ball and kicking it. His kicking foot went offsides while not in the act of kicking.
I just rewatched it 10x, that has to be what they called. Maybin "might" have crossed the line with his helmet, but from the angle there's no way to tell.
Correct. In my best officials voice: "We have offsides on the kicking team. That penalty is declined. The kicking team illegally touched the ball prior to traveling 10 yards. The receiving team has first and 10 at that point."
Not too hard for any referee to say, because they all would in that situation - except for this one.
@DavidClimer: Just saw a tape (not a still shot) and the call appears to be against Medley for crossing the line, correcting and then kicking ball.
A kicker cannot be called offsides PERIOD...
Section 18: Offside ARTICLE 2. (Exception: The kicker and holder are not offside when they are beyond their restraining line) (Rule 6-1-2).