Recruiting Forum Football Talk [RIP 9.3.2019]

Status
Not open for further replies.
The future lawsuit thing is dumb af. He has no idea how hard it is to sue based on something like that.
If that scenario were to occur, I don’t think it would be hard at all to win a civil suit if the University was found to not properly investigate. I’m not a lawyer though

Yeah. The VQ podcast speculated that the BT "Shoot up the School" case will become the baseline for any future cases where any student makes any similar threats. They think this will cause the BT case to be dragged out longer than it should because there have been no other similar cases at UT.

They compared it to some student stressed out over finals decides to make some public threat against other admins/students while he is in the Library.

UT could decide:
1) Kick any student out of school for public threats against the school
2) Investigate the student's real intent and/or ability to carry out the threat, then decide on a case by case basis. (GatorDog said this could open the school up to catastrophic lawsuits if the student actually tried to carry out his/her threats later if he/she was allowed to remain in school.)

IMO, I would think they go with option 2 and if the student does not give full access to their personal life OR does not provide full cooperation with the internal investigation .. then the student would be gone. If full cooperation with internal investigation and no actual intent is found, then the student could remain in school.

This should not be the baseline for cases where a student threatens to shoot up a school, because he didn't ever say anything like it. Some random, probably tipsy, student overheard the argument he was having with his girlfriend, thought they heard something, and ran to get their jump to conclusions mat. This is a case of one person mishearing something that wasn't their business anyway and then taking a big dump and calling it their statement to the police.