Recruiting Football Talk VII

I once ended up coaching 6-year-olds' soccer because there was no coach for my son's team and they were going to have to disband without a volunteer. I hastily fetched a copy of the rules. 😂

We finished in first place! Because I was a great coach? No way! Because I had a couple of left-footed kids by happenstance, and I at least had enough sense to play them on the left, and persuade them stay out like a wing so a ball could be kicked their way, so we could score from either side. The 6-year-olds generally swarmed the ball like it was a queen bee and moved like migrating worker bees in a cluster up and down the field. Mercifully for me and especially for the kids, we found a guy who actually liked and understood soccer to relieve me the second year. Fahr me!
I hastily fetched a copy of the rules.
It is my understanding that the only two rules of soccer are 1) Kick it in the other teams goal. 2) Keep it out of yours.
The rest of the time the ref is just blowing the whistle to stop the game to give the players a rest, otherwise they would keep running around like fools and give themselves heart attacks. Sometimes he waits too long and one of them falls out and needs to be carted of on a stretcher.

OK.

So, as opposed to claiming it's not a sport (when it meets the definition), it may make more sense to amend the claim to "golf isn't a sport that I like/take seriously/respect", so everyone can nod their head and say...

"OK."

The interesting thing is, I suspect most people who'd take issue with golf being a sport have never really tried hitting a golf ball, probably couldn't hit one straight 30 yards, or 100 yards in any direction. But it's a great way to sound... however it sounds.
Golf most certainly is a sport or athletic endeavor. Tiger Woods was a great athlete in his prime, he probably could have played any sport if he put his mind to it. He is the only golfer I have ever looked and said "he might be juicing."