Paul Finebaum on UT hire

It's such a BS narrative.

The only "home run hires" of the past 2 decades have been Saban at Bama, Urban Meyer at Ohio State, and Jim Harbaugh at Michigan; and the last of those "home run hires" hasn't even totally worked out.

All the other great coaches hired were considered disappointing by a large portion of the fanbase:

Pete Carroll at USC
Dabo Swinney at Clemson
Mark Richt at Georgia
Bob Stoops at Oklahoma
Matt Campbell at Iowa State
Mike Gundy at OK State
Mack Brown at UNC
Kirby Smart at Georgia

All considered risky or even outright bad hires. The Pete Carroll and Dabo Swinney hires, in particular, were trashed mercilessly, before turning out to be 2 of the best college coaches of the 21st Century.

There aren't a whole lot of "home run hires" out there and they are rarely available even for the top jobs.

He's made a living ticking off people and being abrasive. I remember him at UT when I was a student there and he was writing for the Beacon. Nothing's changed.

I have a hope.. and that is - the bar seems to be set pretty low right now. And Finebaum and others sticking the knife in and twisting it. They may be right, however I hope Heupel likes a challenge. I sure would in his shoes. The best victories come from the underdog. I just watched the video of Drew Lock in Heupel's offense. Actually pretty impressive the stats they put up. Get some talent in here at QB. 4 years of JG has also set that bar low. New blood was wanted and we got it. This guy doesn't look like a cornbread eating goober, but he hasn't missed any meals either.

Why is anyone listening to this d**k with ears?

ESPN analyst Paul Finebaum believes Pruitt was a good hire.

"Phillip Fulmer saved this program with the hiring of Jeremy Pruitt," said Finebaum on Monday, in an interview with WVLT.

Finebaum also called Pruitt "wise" saying that former UT coach Butch Jones was "too much sizzle."

SEC MEDIA DAYS: 'Phillip Fulmer saved this program'