Vols_74
Well-Known Member
- Joined
- Nov 25, 2011
- Messages
- 625
- Likes
- 623
He was standing at the one foot line and was pushed back into the end zone. So his established progress was the one foot line at the time of contact. It was pretty obvious on TV that it was not a safety.
You saw a different play than I did. He was pushed back into the end zone during the tackle.He was not standing at the one yard line. He was running backwards into his own endzone and our DT hit him. The momentum of his own weight being carried by his own legs running chicken **** backwards plus the momentum of the monsterous hit by our rusher combined to tackle him completely in his own endzone.
It's always going to get spottes at first contact unless the ball carrier bounces off and tries to advance again.Please quote the rule. Forward progress is spotted at the point the defenders fingernail grazes the jersey of the ball carrier even if the ball carrier is running backwards?
That makes no sense.
It's always going to get spottes at first contact unless the ball carrier bounces off and tries to advance again.
When a player is retreating the ball is spotted at the point of initial contact by the defender provided he brings the ball carrier down. If this was not the rule you could just pick up a retreating ball carrier and carry them back for 30 yards before taking them down if you wanted to.
Hahahahaha!!! This OL is so god awful. #fireWillFriend