This play made me question the rules, as I have never seen anything quite like it. As someone who usually identifies official calls before they are vocalized, I went searching in the NCAA rules to see if they got it right. Even after looking at the official rules, I am still not 100% sure of the proper call.
First, the definition of a Fumble:
Fumble
ARTICLE 1. To fumble the ball is to lose player possession by any act other
than passing, kicking or successful handing (A.R. 2-19-2-I and A.R. 4-1-3-I).
The status of the ball is a fumble.
Next, the definition of a Pass:
Passing
ARTICLE 1. Passing the ball is throwing it. A pass continues to be a pass until
it is caught or intercepted by a player or the ball becomes dead.
Forward and Backward Pass
ARTICLE 2. a. A pass is forward if the ball first strikes the ground, a player,
an official or anything else beyond the spot where the ball is released. All other
passes are backward passes. When in question a pass thrown in or behind the
neutral zone is forward rather than a backward pass.
b. When a Team A player is holding the ball to pass it forward toward the
neutral zone, any intentional forward movement of his hand or arm with the
ball firmly in his control starts the forward pass. If a Team B player contacts
the passer or ball after forward
movement begins and the ball leaves the
passers hand, a forward pass is ruled regardless of where the ball strikes
the ground or a player (A.R. 2-19-2-I).
c. When in question, the ball is passed and not fumbled during an attempted
forward pass.
d. A snap becomes a backward pass when the snapper releases the ball (A.R.
2-23-1-I).
Crosses Neutral Zone
ARTICLE 3. a. A legal forward pass has crossed the neutral zone when it first
strikes the ground, a player, an official or anything beyond the neutral zone
inbounds. It has not crossed the neutral zone when it first strikes the ground, a
player, an official or anything in or behind the neutral zone inbounds.
b. A player has crossed the neutral zone if his entire body has been beyond the
neutral zone.
c. A legal forward pass is beyond or behind the neutral zone where it crosses
the sideline.
Catchable Forward Pass
ARTICLE 4. A catchable forward pass is an untouched legal forward pass
beyond the neutral zone to an eligible player who has a reasonable opportunity
to catch the ball. When in question, a legal forward pass is catchable.
Because the Neutral Zone is essential to a pass, here is the definition of the Neutral Zone:
SECTION 17. The Neutral Zone
ARTICLE 1. a. The neutral zone is the space between the two lines of
scrimmage
extended to the sidelines and is the length of the ball.
b. The neutral zone is established when the ball is ready for play and is resting
on the ground with its long axis at right angles to the scrimmage line and
parallel to the sidelines.
c. The neutral zone exists until there is a change of team possession, until a
scrimmage kick crosses the neutral zone or until the ball is declared dead.
And a definition of a Kickoff as a Free Kick Down:
Free Kick
ARTICLE 5. a. A free kick is a kick by a player of the team in possession made
under restrictions specified in Rules 4-1-4, 6-1-1 and 6-1-2.
b. A free kick after a safety may be a punt, drop kick or place kick.
Kickoff
ARTICLE 6. A kickoff is a free kick that starts each half and follows each try or
field goal (Exception: In extra periods). It must be a place kick or a drop kick.
The rules make distinctions between Scrimmage Downs (and Scrimmage kicks such as punts and field goal attempts) and Free Kick Downs. As far as I can tell, there is no Neutral Zone on a Free Kick Down, as they specify a Restraining Line instead:
SECTION 1. Free Kicks
Restraining Lines
ARTICLE 1. For any free kick formation, the kicking teams restraining line
shall be the yard line through the most forward point from which the ball shall
be kicked, and the receiving teams restraining line shall be the yard line 10
yards beyond that point. Unless relocated by a penalty, the kicking teams
restraining line on a kickoff shall be its 35-yard line, and for a free kick after a
safety, its 20-yard line.
For further reference, here are the rules for legally recovering a free kick:
Touching and Recovery of a Free Kick
ARTICLE 3. a. No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player (Exception: Rules 6-1-4 and 6-5-1-b);
2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team Bs restraining line
(Exception: Rule 6-4-1) (A.R. 2-12-5-I); or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team Bs restraining line.
Thereafter, all players of Team A become eligible to touch, recover or catch
the kick.
b. Any other touching by Team A is illegal touching, a violation that, when the
ball becomes dead, gives the receiving team the privilege of taking the ball
at the spot of the violation.
c. If there is an accepted penalty for a live-ball foul by either team, or if there
are offsetting fouls, the illegal touching privilege is canceled (A.R. 6-1-3-I).
d. Illegal touching in Team As end zone is ignored.
And Finally, one last section of the rules denoting legal and illegal forward passes:
SECTION 3. Forward Pass
Legal Forward Pass
ARTICLE 1. Team A may make one forward pass during each scrimmage down
before team possession changes, provided the pass is thrown from a point in or
behind the neutral zone.
Illegal Forward Pass
ARTICLE 2. A forward pass is illegal if:
a. It is thrown by a Team A player whose entire body is beyond the neutral
zone when he releases the ball.
b. It is thrown by a Team B player.
c. It is thrown after team possession has changed during the down.
d. It is the second forward pass during the same down.
e. It is thrown from in or behind the neutral zone after a ball carriers entire
body and the ball have been beyond the neutral zone.
FR-76 RULE 7 / SNAPPING AND PASSING THE BALL
PENALTY [a-e]Five yards from the spot of the foul; also loss of down if
by Team A before team possession changes during a scrimmage
down (A.R. 3-4-3-IV and A.R. 7-3-2-II) [S35 and S9].
f. The passer to conserve time throws the ball directly to the ground (1)
after the ball has already touched the ground; or (2) not immediately after
controlling the ball.
g. The passer to conserve time throws the ball forward into an area where there
is no eligible Team A receiver (A.R. 7-3-2-II-VII).
h. The passer to conserve yardage throws the ball forward into an area where
there is no eligible Team A receiver (A.R. 7-3-2-I).
[Exception: If the passer is or has been outside the tackle box he may throw the
ball so that it crosses or lands beyond the neutral zone or neutral zone extended
(Rule 2-19-3) (A.R. 7-3-2-VIII-X). This applies only to the player who controls
the snap or the resulting backward pass.]
PENALTY [f-h]Loss of down at the spot of the foul [S36 and S9].
Ok. I know that what I've quoted above is a lot to process, but let's examine the play within the rules. It's important to note that this play happened during a free kick down (not a scrimmage down). As such, the return team would not be entitled to a forward pass (as the rules state that the team may make one forward pass during a scrimmage down). I also don't see how the play would qualify as an illegal forward pass based on the conditions set in the rules. If not a pass, then it is a fumble, as the definition of a fumble states that it is: "To fumble the ball is to lose player possession by any act other than passing, kicking or successful handing". Team A (UT in this scenario) would be able to recover the ball, because according to free kick rules, "a. No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after: 1. It touches a Team B player". As such, I believe that this should have legally been a fumble recovered by Tennessee.
Now, I am obviously happy with the outcome of the game, and I can completely understand why the call was made as it was in this confusing series of events. However, I wanted to know for my own education, and I am fairly sure at this point that it should have been ruled a fumble, as the rules don't seem to allow for a forward pass to be made at all during a free kick down. Perhaps we'll see a slight rules change or clarification to address this during the off-season.