05_never_again
Well-Known Member
- Joined
- Aug 28, 2006
- Messages
- 25,780
- Likes
- 23,829
that's pretty much Pass Interference isn't it? Or am I misreading it and that's not hitting him before the ball gets there?
No, pass interference would be hitting him before the ball gets there.
However, within this ****ty rule, there's selective enforcement. If a defensive player hit a receiver in the process of making a catch from behind, I bet the "defenseless receiver" penalty never gets called. Technically, the receiver cannot actively "defend himself" from the hit, but since he has his back turned to the defender, it isn't a "devastating hit" (it still isn't exactly clear to me what that term means) and is legal.
It appears to be unique for receivers going over the middle, especially when they leave their feet or fully extend their arms away from their body to make a catch.
It's an insane expectation of defensive players. When a WR extends his arms while going over the middle, the defensive player is apparently supposed to instantaneously recognize this, hold up, give him a chance to make the catch and defend himself, and then you can make the tackle.
I know this example if from the NFL and not college, but here's a perfect example of what I'm talking about: this is a devastating, yet clean hit delivered in the process of making a perfectly legitimate football play.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwAhWlfF3NM