the most bs call

#29
#29
I just went back and watched it again. He went in with his head down, but he clearly rolled into the guy and actually hit him with the back of his shoulder.

Went in with his head down. Exactly. Leading with the helmet is the call, not contact.

I don't have TiVo though. Do you have an online replay I can see? I really would like to see it again.
 
#30
#30
The replay I saw looked like he was leading with his helmet. Not too mention the fact that he'd be down for awhile. Granted, like you said... we're both biased. That's why they have referees.

Fair, however... What is your definition of "awhile"? It was less than a second!

Late hit.... MAYBE! Leading with helmet, NO!
 
#31
#31
With the helmet/shoulder... it doesn't matter!!!

The guy was on the ground. Late hit. PERIOD.

If a receiver can catch a pass lying on his back why can't the defender hit him. And how do you tackle a guy lying flat on the ground without leading with your head. I guess next time he sould go in WWE style feet first.:eek:lol:
 
#33
#33
I'm telling you, I just watched it. I don't think there was even any helmet to helmet contact. You could possibly argue that he came in slightly late, but even that is a little sketchy.

There wasnt
Posted via VolNation Mobile
 
#36
#36
Went in with his head down. Exactly. Leading with the helmet is the call, not contact.
I'm still not sure he was really LEADING with the helmet . . . but it doesn't really matter at this point
 
#37
#37
Doesn't have to be contact. You can't lead with your helment. Period.
Posted via VolNation Mobile

you might want to point that out to the refs and the guy that tried to tackle Moore in the first quarter. He is consistently leading with his head and getting knocked out for it.
 
#39
#39
If a receiver can catch a pass lying on his back why can't the defender hit him. And how do you tackle a guy lying flat on the ground without leading with your head. I guess next time he sould go in WWE style feet first.:eek:lol:

you don't have to in college. He's down once he touches the ground: back, knee, elbow, w/e
 
#40
#40
If a receiver can catch a pass lying on his back why can't the defender hit him. And how do you tackle a guy lying flat on the ground without leading with your head. I guess next time he sould go in WWE style feet first.:eek:lol:

Exactly... If the ball is in play and the receiver can catch it on his back... gotta be fair game!
 
#41
#41
I'm telling you, I just watched it. I don't think there was even any helmet to helmet contact. You could possibly argue that he came in slightly late, but even that is a little sketchy.

Pretty much this. On the second replay, it doesn't even look like there's any contact with the defender's helmet, and he even pulls up by turning so there wouldn't be excessive contact to the player on the ground. It's obvious he was going for the ball, which was being juggled as he jumped forward.

Not to mention, it was a late flag.
 
#42
#42
Exactly... If the ball is in play and the receiver can catch it on his back... gotta be fair game!

again, when he's on his back in college he's already down


in the pros, he just needs to be touched with a hand or body part and he's down

there's no reason to dive at him



....i'd also like someone to show me when in a game someone's caught a ball on their back
 
#43
#43
again, when he's on his back in college he's already down


in the pros, he just needs to be touched with a hand or body part and he's down

there's no reason to dive at him



....i'd also like someone to show me when in a game someone's caught a ball on their back

SON i know the rules and what you don't seem to understand is he could have caught that ball and it would have been a completion. Why would you just sit there and let him catch it?
 
#44
#44
Clearly a late hit. He jumped on a guy as he lay on the ground. I want our Vols to win as much as you guys do, but let's stop acting like the refs are causing this choke. It was a stupid bonehead play. Period...
 
#45
#45
pretty much this. On the second replay, it doesn't even look like there's any contact with the defender's helmet, and he even pulls up by turning so there wouldn't be excessive contact to the player on the ground. It's obvious he was going for the ball, which was being juggled as he jumped forward.

Not to mention, it was a late flag.

+10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
 
#46
#46
Fair, however... What is your definition of "awhile"? It was less than a second!

Late hit.... MAYBE! Leading with helmet, NO!

I still think he led with the helmet. But if your willing to concede the possible late hit, what's the difference? 15 yards and automatic first down either way.

6 in one hand. Half dozen in the other.
 
#47
#47
Pretty much this. On the second replay, it doesn't even look like there's any contact with the defender's helmet, and he even pulls up by turning so there wouldn't be excessive contact to the player on the ground. It's obvious he was going for the ball, which was being juggled as he jumped forward.

Not to mention, it was a late flag.

that's what I saw too
teh defender rolled away at the end to avoid helmet to helmet

Bad Call
 
#49
#49
SON i know the rules and what you don't seem to understand is he could have caught that ball and it would have been a completion. Why would you just sit there and let him catch it?

and i know the rules too. If he's on the ground in college, he's already down, even if he did catch it. Your ranting example made no sense at all
 
#50
#50
He wasn't down, so it's not an issue.

But he had touched the pass, so if he was on his feet, he'd have been fair game to hit. As soon as he touches the ball, there can be contact as long as you don't spear a guy running across the middle (which is why this rule was put into place). What makes this unique is him juggling the ball before he lands, then landing on the ground and continue the process of the catch, and then getting contacted by a guy throwing himself at him. In the NFL, you're able to tackle the guy even if he's on the ground or "helpless." The Titans do it all the time. But in this instance, it looked like the defender was going to break up the pass more than it was the knock the guy's lights out.

That penalty is to stop guys from intentionally throwing their bodies into guys in order to put a big hit on them when the offensive player is incapable to protect themselves. From the replay, that wasn't what happened. He was wanting the pass to go incomplete. Not hurt that Oregon player.
 
Advertisement



Back
Top