"The runner's forward progress toward the opponents' goal line is stopped by contact with an opponent, with little chance to be resumed. The exact moment at which the player's forward progress stops is subject to the judgment of the officials. In particular, for the protection of the quarterback, he is considered down as soon as an official judges that he is in the grasp of an opponent behind the line of scrimmage, and the tackling defensive player(s) will be awarded with a sack. If he is driven backward by the opponent, the ball will be spotted where his forward progress was stopped."
Rogers was not down, however, he had no chance of advancing the ball. therefore the play was called dead when he was pushed down beginning at the 1 yard line and falling backwards into the end zone.
so the result was dead ball at the 1. A correct call even though I would have loved to have the safety.