biggest joke i've ever seen. some of the calls and stuff at the end were ridiculous. and i want to know why we can never get a ref to throw a flag on someone removing/slamming their helmet after a play (LSU, Bama last year) yet it gets called on us after we get completely screwed?
You're smart hat so please clear this up for me. I have not been able to get an answer. If I snapped the ball with too many men on the field and threw a touchdown pass, it would obviously not count because the play was blown dead. So how were they given the benefit of a play that was blown dead? They snapped the ball with too many men on the field and were given the benefit of a completed play that should never have counted as completed? Wouldn't the play be dead before the spike occurred? What is wrong with my logic here?
But the ref did not stand over the ball the minute UNC subbed which would have ran time off while we subbed and ended the game.
The UMP also called the game over.
Both of those cause us to win.
No, if there is a dead ball penalty after a play that ends in bounds the clock automatically restarts as soon as the penalty is walked off.
The official was clearly incorrect. The spike did not count regardless of the erroneous ruling, and there should have been a 15 yard penalty with the clock starting once the ball was set ready for play after the review.
NCAA rules:
Starting and Stopping the Clock
start on the referees signal:
e.
Starts on the Referees Signal. For each of the following reasons, the game
clock is stopped. If the next play begins with a snap, the game clock will
4. To complete a penalty.
The penalty should have been assessed and the clock started immediately.
The officials ruled the spike was valid. Thus, the play before the field goal was an incomplete pass. The clock started on the snap for the field goal.
I don't think so. Since the clock was stopped after the spike, the clock would only start at the snap of the next play; not at the ready for play signal. They got that part right.