Shouldn't the clock have ran at the ready for play whistle with 1 second after a

#51
#51
How do you snap the ball with one second left, spike it, and still have one second on the play clock? Am I missing something?
 
#55
#55
biggest joke i've ever seen. some of the calls and stuff at the end were ridiculous. and i want to know why we can never get a ref to throw a flag on someone removing/slamming their helmet after a play (LSU, Bama last year) yet it gets called on us after we get completely screwed?
 
#56
#56
biggest joke i've ever seen. some of the calls and stuff at the end were ridiculous. and i want to know why we can never get a ref to throw a flag on someone removing/slamming their helmet after a play (LSU, Bama last year) yet it gets called on us after we get completely screwed?

My bestfriend, a Bama fan, said the same thing when the call was made. Said wow you guys are getting screwed.
 
#58
#58
You're correct.

But the ref did not stand over the ball the minute UNC subbed which would have ran time off while we subbed and ended the game.

The UMP also called the game over.

Both of those cause us to win.
 
#59
#59
You're smart hat so please clear this up for me. I have not been able to get an answer. If I snapped the ball with too many men on the field and threw a touchdown pass, it would obviously not count because the play was blown dead. So how were they given the benefit of a play that was blown dead? They snapped the ball with too many men on the field and were given the benefit of a completed play that should never have counted as completed? Wouldn't the play be dead before the spike occurred? What is wrong with my logic here?

The play was not blown dead; it was a penalty that nullified any gain (like illegal formation, et al), but the penalty is designed so that the team still has to snap the ball and spike it, and cannot simply stop the clock by running on too many players. So the incomplete pass was still a play; it was just nullified by the penalty. So, the clock still wouldn't start until the snap. As is, my understanding of the rules is that the ball always starts at the snap after any delay caused by an instant replay review by the booth.
 
#60
#60
But the ref did not stand over the ball the minute UNC subbed which would have ran time off while we subbed and ended the game.

The UMP also called the game over.

Both of those cause us to win.

Actually, the rules require the ref to stop the clock to allow such a substitution, so that would have hurt us, not helped us.
 
#61
#61
No, if there is a dead ball penalty after a play that ends in bounds the clock automatically restarts as soon as the penalty is walked off.

But this wasn't a dead ball penalty; it's like illegal formation, not illegal participation, because the extra players were running off the field and not at the line of scrimmage at the time of the snap.
 
#62
#62
The official was clearly incorrect. The spike did not count regardless of the erroneous ruling, and there should have been a 15 yard penalty with the clock starting once the ball was set ready for play after the review.

Illegal substitution in that instance is a 5 yard penalty, not a 15 yard penalty, because they were not in the huddle and not in formation at the time of the snap.
 
#63
#63
NCAA rules:

Starting and Stopping the Clock


e.
Starts on the Referee’s Signal. For each of the following reasons, the game
clock is stopped. If the next play begins with a snap, the game clock will
start on the referee’s signal:

4. To complete a penalty.

The penalty should have been assessed and the clock started immediately.

Except they didn't stop the clock to complete a penalty; they let the clock run. Had they not spiked the ball, the game would have been over.
 
#64
#64
shouldn't the ref be standing over the ball while subsitutions are going on??? that ref was not
 
#65
#65
But this wasn't a dead ball penalty; it's like illegal formation, not illegal participation, because the extra players were running off the field and not at the line of scrimmage at the time of the snap.

The holder and kicker were in position to kick a FG.
 
#66
#66
Illegal substitution in that instance is a 5 yard penalty, not a 15 yard penalty, because they were not in the huddle and not in formation at the time of the snap.

Illegal participation is a 15 yard penalty, though.

12 or more men active during a play.
 
#68
#68
illegal shift should have been called
too many men on the field should have been called
false start should have been called

#@#$@# UNC
 
#69
#69
12 players participated - 15 yarder.

Is that what they called? A 5 yard penalty.

I wouldn't know, the game was over, and I was half way down the upper deck ramp when I heard BOO! by the time we got back to our seats to see what the hub bub was about, they had started a new game at 20-20.
 
#70
#70
For people wondering, the 12 on the field(that should have been called for illegal participation

Kicker
Holder
3 WRs
5 Offensive Lineman
QB
TE

That's 12.
 
#74
#74
The officials ruled the spike was valid. Thus, the play before the field goal was an incomplete pass. The clock started on the snap for the field goal.

Nope. There was an offensive penalty. Thus, the clock winds once the ball is set, not at the next snap.

I don't think so. Since the clock was stopped after the spike, the clock would only start at the snap of the next play; not at the ready for play signal. They got that part right.

Nope. There was an offensive penalty. Thus, the clock winds once the ball is set, not at the next snap.
 
#75
#75
Folks we can argue about the calls all day. The fact is it was a bad call the rules suck. The NCAA can review it and find it was a bad call and all that will be said is well were sorry were only human. Or they can find it was a good call, no matter what is found it still doesnt make it better. Tennessee always plays the teams and refs.
 
Advertisement



Back
Top