I think the refs on the spot ruled the ball had crossed the plane before the SC player kicked it (or didn't see him kick it) and then the replay guy had inconclusive evidence to prove it didn't cross the plane as McDowell played it.
I am forced to disagree, but I think it was just a mistake, not some conspiracy. When we play bama, however...
AV
Well, that's what I thought, too. And I never complained about the on-field refs, that was near-impossible to see real-time, and they made the right call based on what they saw. But if you go back, they said the ruling was "confirmed", not "upheld".
I have read a good bit of the rule book, and in the rules, as well as every case and ruling example I read, it seems that a play continues as if illegal touching never happened until a possession is made, but it is the receiving team's option to take it at the result or the spot of the foul. So, both initial touches by Tennessee were illegal touches, and so SC would have always been able to take the ball back on that spot, but the play would continue as if those didn't happen. So, as soon as the SC player touched it, it would be treated as if they ran into the ball on the play, and it would be recoverable by Tennessee. Obviously, Tennessee would never get the touchdown, because SC would take the ball on the 1 vs allow the touchdown.
My thoughts were that they possibly ruled that when the Tennessee player rolled over the ball, it looked like he was kind of pushing it back, that it could be considering "forced" contact, because he was pushing it, even if barely, towards the SC player as he kicked it. Of course, it could've just been an error in stating "confirmed" and there just wasn't enough evidence to overturn it. I don't know, but that would make sense too.
I do know that I've learned more than I should ever need to know about some football rules.