SEC Officiating

#27
#27
This. The ball was touched, but not downed, by the kicking team. It was essentially a free play if SC could have done anything with it. Once the ball crossed the line it was a touchback. Refs didn't mess anything up on that one.

LOL, you sir are an idiot..... If the ball is touched by the kicking team it is DOWN!!!!! Seriously? Where did you learn football..... The ball was down before McDowell touched it. Move on because you just showed your knowledge.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 2 people
#28
#28
LOL, you sir are an idiot..... If the ball is touched by the kicking team it is DOWN!!!!! Seriously? Where did you learn football..... The ball was down before McDowell touched it. Move on because you just showed your knowledge.

Again.....NOT TRUE. Seems like you are the one that needs a rules refresher.
 
#29
#29
more on the goal line missed call.

When downed by the first Vol, the ball had to be considered dead. It was not an inadvertent touch--it was deliberately downed!. It was DOWNED--it was a DEAD BALL!

If another Vol then touched the downed (DEAD) ball, big deal--no consequence!

If the Cock then kicked the DEAD ball--so what--nothing!

How could it have become that complicated?

You are correct sir, but the way the ruling played out.... they went by McDowell's touch not the original, thus illegal kicikng by SC.

Either way, officiating crew cost us.....
 
#30
#30
Yes that is what I am saying.

If we back it up 10 yards....we touch it at the 10, they kick it and we down it at the 2.....the ball goes back to the 10 where we initially touched it.

100% agree with this.

IF the rules read that traveling 2 more yards and crossing the goal line results in a touchback, they seriously need to be changed. Back to where first touched should be back to where first touched anytime the ball is acted upon by the receiving team and they choose not to accept the result of that action.

AV
 
#31
#31
I'm afraid the ball was still moving (even if just rocking back and forth) when McDowell touched it and was therefore not already downed. Still think the refs screwed up what happened next.

AV

Do you need an explanation of the term DOWNED BALL? You must because when a ball is touched by the kicking team not the opposing team.... THE BALL IS DOWN!!!!! Ok, do you understand that or should we spell it out! Jesus, pick up a rule book before posting.....
 
Last edited:
#32
#32
I have yet to understand that call.

It was either down at the one or a fumble and a TD for us.

I have no idea how you get to the point USC ball at the 20.

Can't be a fumble since we touched it first. Should've been a bean bag thrown where we first touched it and then the ball back at that spot once it was either downed outside the endzone or touched by the SC player and not returned.
 
#34
#34
Can't be a fumble since we touched it first. Should've been a bean bag thrown where we first touched it and then the ball back at that spot once it was either downed outside the endzone out touched by the SC player and not returned.

Dead on Sir!!!! But the way the play was ruled,( If called correctly) illegal touching of the ball on SC should have resulted in a TD not a touchback but now a mute point. I stand down.
 
#35
#35
when a ball is touch by the kicking team not the opposing team.... THE BALL IS DOWN!!!!!

Not exactly. The ball still has to be possessed to be dead in the field of play. Just touching it isn't quite enough.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 2 people
#36
#36
LOL, you sir are an idiot..... If the ball is touched by the kicking team it is DOWN!!!!! Seriously? Where did you learn football..... The ball was down before McDowell touched it. Move on because you just showed your knowledge.

It's great when someone throws out words like "idiot" and then proceeds to spout nonsense.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 4 people
#37
#37
Can't be a fumble since we touched it first. Should've been a bean bag thrown where we first touched it and then the ball back at that spot once it was either downed outside the endzone or touched by the SC player and not returned.

Unless the kick was intentional, it was rendered moot when the ball crossed the line. It may not be a good rule, but it's the rule nonetheless.
 
#38
#38
Pretty sure the ball still has to be possessed to be dead in the field of play. Just touching it isn't quite enough.


The ball has to BE TOUCHED..... by the kicking team. Watch film, read the rule book. You don't have to pick the ball up, cradle it, swoon it..... has to be touched. Just like if a punt hits a player on the receiving team and it hits his ankle, toe, or any part of him if the punting team recovers the ball.... it's the punting teams ball.
 
#39
#39
College football officiating is a total joke. It is either incompetence or making bad calls on purpose to facilitate an outcome. Even replay is a complete joke, a 8 year old kid can see the right call and they mess it up. If you have noticed even the comentators are reluctant to predict what the replay officals will come back with because they have been made to look foolish so many times this season.

The punted ball that was kicked into the end zone by the SC player was an obvious downed ball on the 1 yard line the fact that they reviewed it and stayed with the call on the field still confuses me. Whats the point of a review if they still miss it? Who's reviewing the reviewer??
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person
#40
#40
It's great when someone throws out words like "idiot" and then proceeds to spout nonsense.

lol, if the ball is touched by the kicking team it's down. doesn't matter what the second player does to touch the ball it's down. And NONSENSE? because you're a bama fan was not why I inferred idiot... PICK UP A COLLEGE football rule book. Being a bama fan, you might need someone to read it to you. Just read the rules before you spout off about something you haven't a clue!
 
#41
#41
The ball has to BE TOUCHED..... by the kicking team. Watch film, read the rule book. You don't have to pick the ball up, cradle it, swoon it..... has to be touched.

That isn't correct. Unless the kicking team fully downs the ball, it is still live. The play continues and the receiving team is allowed to take the result of the play or begin their possession at the spot of the original touch.

Example:

Last year against Bama, Charleston Southern got off a lousy punt that hit their gunner in the back. Cyrus Jones scooped it up and scored. Had anything bad happened on the return, like a lost fumble, Bama could have had the ball at the spot that it hit the CSU gunner. Obviously, Bama took the TD.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 2 people
#42
#42
The punted ball that was kicked into the end zone by the SC player was an obvious downed ball on the 1 yard line the fact that they reviewed it and stayed with the call on the field still confuses me. Whats the point of a review if they still miss it? Who's reviewing the reviewer??


lol, was a terrible call that cost us momentum and a chance to either score or get a safety and the ball back.
 
#43
#43
SEC refs suck! Best football worst refs. Unbelievable how many game changing missed calls they have every week!

I've been saying that for years. The SEC used to have some of the best collegiate officials around. I'm not sure exactly when it changed but it has. And is it just me, or does the SEC lead the nation in targeting calls?
 
#44
#44
The ball has to BE TOUCHED..... by the kicking team. Watch film, read the rule book. You don't have to pick the ball up, cradle it, swoon it..... has to be touched. Just like if a punt hits a player on the receiving team and it hits his ankle, toe, or any part of him if the punting team recovers the ball.... it's the punting teams ball.

Still have to actually control the ball for it to be dead. If a ball is bouncing and deflects off the kicking team at the 1 and crosses the goal line, it's a touchback
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person
#45
#45
That isn't correct. Unless the kicking team fully downs the ball, it is still live. The play continues and the receiving team is allowed to take the result of the play or begin their possession at the spot of the original touch.

Example:

Last year against Bama, Charleston Southern got off a lousy punt that hit their gunner in the back. Cyrus Jones scooped it up and scored. Had anything bad happened on the return, like a lost fumble, Bama could have had the ball at the spot that it hit the CSU gunner. Obviously, Bama took the TD.

Oh my god....... Really....... How many times have you seen a punt in a game where the kicking team runs down, places a hand on the ball and refs call it down....seriously????? You don't have to pick the ball up, hand it to the refs..... Stop and think sir, if the ball touches a receiving teams player, foot, or person in general the ball is LIVE. The ball was down before McDowell touched it..... TOUCHING OF THE BALL is DOWNING THE BALL.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person
#46
#46
The kick is not dead just because of first touching by K. Rule 6-3-7 describes the ball being dead when the ball is at rest between the goal lines, with the word AND before the phrase "no player attempts to secure it". It is critical to determine if you want to deem R to be attempting to secure the ball.
If not, you could kill the play, but R was entitled to recover and advance the ball. Another legitimate ruling may be that he illegally kicked the ball, which is a live-ball foul. ACCEPTED Live ball fouls eliminate the first touching. K can accept or decline R's illegal kick. If they accept, it's half the distance from the 1.
If there had been no first touching, K could decline the penalty and take the Safety.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person
#47
#47
Oh my god....... Really....... How many times have you seen a punt in a game where the kicking team runs down, places a hand on the ball and refs call it down....seriously????? You don't have to pick the ball up, hand it to the refs..... Stop and think sir, if the ball touches a receiving teams player, foot, or person in general the ball is LIVE. The ball was down before McDowell touched it..... TOUCHING OF THE BALL is DOWNING THE BALL.

I just gave you an example that proves you're wrong. You quoted the example.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person
#48
#48
Still have to actually control the ball for it to be dead. If a ball is bouncing and deflects off the kicking team at the 1 and crosses the goal line, it's a touchback

Gavol, once the ball is touched by the kicking team it's down sir. I know the NCAA rule book inside and out and I'm 99.9% sure I'm correct. The replay that was reviewed was McDowell touching the ball sir. Not being ugly.... played 4 years in college and played D and ST... pretty sure I understand the rules.

But here's the kicker, even if McDowell's feet and half his body was in the end zone, if the ball hadn't have been touched, where he touched it is where the ball was down. Don't trust me go to the rule book. If the ball doesn't break the plain of the goal, a player can touch it and the ball be downed. Not my words but the rule book.
 
#50
#50
While I agree with your premise that SEC officiating is terrible, the downed punt was actually the right call.

Ut player runs by ball touching it at the 1....CM then (ridiculously)slides into the ball. Regardless of who or why they touched it, the ball ended up crossing the plain for a touchback. The only way it could have ended up as a touchdown is if the receiving team was the first one to touch it, resulting in a "muffed" situation. Since we touched it first, the receiving team has no penalty for touching.

For example. After the first UT player touched it, a SC player could have picked it up and tried to advance it. Let's say the SC player then fumbles at the 50 and UT recovers the fumble.....the ball would be SC's ball at the 1 where the UT player touched it. It was a touchback because the SC player never "possessed" the ball. Had he picked it up and then fumbled in the endzone, it would have gone back to the 1 in that instance.

Isn't the ball down immediately down if touched by the kicking team? That's my understanding of the rule.

If so the ball was downed as soon as the UT player touched it at the 1 yard line. Then the play would be over regardless of the SC player kicking it in to the Endzone.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person
Advertisement



Back
Top