rule question?

#1

m9000

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
372
Likes
179
#1
On a pass or lateral form Hobbs to Camera, the defender appeared to hit the in intended receiver before the ball arrive, yet no PI call.

If a thrown ball is a lateral is the defender allowed to block or tackle the intended receiver before the ball arrives? Can PI be called if the ball is behind the LOS?
 
  • Like
Reactions: 3 people
#2
#2
Auto-correct is your enemy. :) You clearly meant Dobbs to Kamara.

So in both college and the pros, the Pass Interference rule does not apply when the pass does not cross the neutral zone into the defensive field of play. So there's no such thing as that rule in a screen play, whether it turns out to be a forward pass or a lateral. Other rules might apply, like defensive holding, but did not in this case.

Hope that answers your question.

Go Vols!
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: 3 people
#3
#3
I actually know the play you are talking about.

It's Dobbs and Kamara. You
Must have been drinking.


it wasn't PI

Behind the line
 
#5
#5
On a pass or lateral form Hobbs to Camera, the defender appeared to hit the in intended receiver before the ball arrive, yet no PI call.

If a thrown ball is a lateral is the defender allowed to block or tackle the intended receiver before the ball arrives? Can PI be called if the ball is behind the LOS?

Hobbs? I guess you could say after the 1st quarter, it was FAST AND FURIOUS! :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: 2 people
#7
#7
Auto-correct is your enemy. :) You clearly meant Dobbs to Kamara.

So in both college and the pros, the Pass Interference rule does not apply when the pass does not cross the neutral zone into the defensive field of play. So there's no such thing as that rule in a screen play, whether it turns out to be a forward pass or a lateral. Other rules might apply, like defensive holding, but did not in this case.

Hope that answers your question.

Go Vols!

This is correct. Think about it this way, if that was pass interference then why doesn't Dobbs just throw it to Hurd every time he stays in as a blocker? During those plays Hurd and the defender clearly make contact while the ball is in the air but no pass interference is called. Defender made a really good play on my that one, pushed his blocker back then got off the block to break up the pass
 
#8
#8
On the play in question. From my vantage point down here in west Tn., the throw looked like a lateral, but was treated like a incomplete pass. Did anyone else notice this?
 
#9
#9
That play reminded me of my sophomore year in high school. We were playing a team with a stud at RB. Our coaches told us any time he looked like he was going out for a screen pass like that to just tackle him behind the LOS before the ball was even thrown. Hell of a strategy! Lol
 
#10
#10
That play reminded me of my sophomore year in high school. We were playing a team with a stud at RB. Our coaches told us any time he looked like he was going out for a screen pass like that to just tackle him behind the LOS before the ball was even thrown. Hell of a strategy! Lol

That would be defensive holding, but I guess only if the officials call it.
 
Advertisement



Back
Top