No we are not wrong. We got robbed!

#77
#77
I'm just quoting the rule and watching the video.

Did he grab him? Yes. Was he already across when he grabbed him? No.

If it makes you feel better, I lost $50 to a friend on the game.
You are wrong….
It was, which was why I looked it up.

They neither blew the whistle NOR called the obvious pulling.

I'm not saying the refs weren't awful; I'm saying there were offsetting f ups on the play.

If this had been reversed and Purdue dragged a guy in, the fanbase here would posting the "pulling a player" rule to show we got screwed.
he didn’t drag him.
 
#80
#80
Th
I posted the rule. No one seems to care. You can't pull a player, only push from behind.

SECTION 3. Blocking, Use of Hands or Arms
Who May Block
ARTICLE 1. Players of either team may block opponents, provided it is not
pass interference, interference with the opportunity to catch a kick or a personal
foul (Exception: Rules 6-1-12 and 6-5-4).
Interfering for or Helping the Ball Carrier or Passer
ARTICLE 2. a. The ball carrier or passer may use their hand or arm to ward off
or push opponents.
b. The ball carrier shall not grasp a teammate; and no other teammate shall
grasp, pull, or lift the ball carrier to assist in forward progress.
(A.R. 9-3-2-I)
c. Teammates of the ball carrier or passer may interfere with opponents by
blocking but shall not use interlocked interference by grasping or encircling
one another in any manner while contacting an opponent.
PENALTY—Five yards [S44].
This is a rule but it is like hurdling, it is simply never called. The problem is that this is a touchdown 9,999 of 1,000x’s but tonight the line judge and the white hat would rather not admit wrong doing than drop their ego down one bit
 
#81
#81
Th

This is a rule but it is like hurdling, it is simply never called. The problem is that this is a touchdown 9,999 of 1,000x’s but tonight the line judge and the white hat would rather not admit wrong doing than drop their ego down one bit
Forward progress is spotted at points NOT where the whistle is blown all the time too.

It's common to see an RB go forward, then get pushed back THEN the whistle blows, but the ball is spotted from when forward progress was determined....... NOT when the whistle blows.

It's REALLY REALLY REALLY common to see a guy pushed back before the whistle, isn't it? But where is the spot?
 
#82
#82
Robbed for sure. But if you just handle that last series correctly you’re kicking the game winning field goal. Not sure why you keep trying for bombs to the endzone when you only need 30 yards for a FG to win. Those sideline routes and slants were working just fine.
Yeah horrible decisions by Heupel to overthrow the WR then not flag the DB for holding.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SAPPER 5
#83
#83
I posted the rule. No one seems to care. You can't pull a player, only push from behind.

SECTION 3. Blocking, Use of Hands or Arms
Who May Block
ARTICLE 1. Players of either team may block opponents, provided it is not
pass interference, interference with the opportunity to catch a kick or a personal
foul (Exception: Rules 6-1-12 and 6-5-4).
Interfering for or Helping the Ball Carrier or Passer
ARTICLE 2. a. The ball carrier or passer may use their hand or arm to ward off
or push opponents.
b. The ball carrier shall not grasp a teammate; and no other teammate shall
grasp, pull, or lift the ball carrier to assist in forward progress.
(A.R. 9-3-2-I)
c. Teammates of the ball carrier or passer may interfere with opponents by
blocking but shall not use interlocked interference by grasping or encircling
one another in any manner while contacting an opponent.
PENALTY—Five yards [S44].
Did Fant actually move him forward or keep him from going backwards? No and unprovable, respectively. The hand stretched out with the ball. His body was pulled across. Besides, that happens in every game constantly. It's never called.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Volflyfisher
#84
#84
Forward progress is spotted at points NOT where the whistle is blown all the time too.

It's common to see an RB go forward, then get pushed back THEN the whistle blows, but the ball is spotted from when forward progress was determined....... NOT when the whistle blows.

It's REALLY REALLY REALLY common to see a guy pushed back before the whistle, isn't it? But where is the spot?
The problem is his progress was never stopped and as a official you are taught to stand in the goal line a d wait for the play to come to you and absolutely NEVER blow a live play dead. He did not do what he was supposed to and also did things he was not supposed to. I took up for the referees in the ole miss game because that was the right call but this was as bad as a inadvertent whistle
 
#86
#86
The problem is his progress was never stopped and as a official you are taught to stand in the goal line a d wait for the play to come to you and absolutely NEVER blow a live play dead. He did not do what he was supposed to and also did things he was not supposed to. I took up for the referees in the ole miss game because that was the right call but this was as bad as a inadvertent whistle
Again, there's a legit argument:

Forward progress ISN'T at the whistle on MANY plays and everyone accepts that. It's the judgment of the officials where that it is, usually a line official. People can stop that nonsense right now. Guys often get pushed back and forward AFTER the officials determine forward progress and they spot the ball on that determination.

Fant grabbed him and pulled. That's not legal AND he appears to start moving again when Fant grabs him. It IS bang-bang but watch the video and for my money he's stopped before Fant grabs. LATER, a lineman plows into the back of the pile and he moves even more.

Two things: if Fant had made his block AND that lineman had gotten there earlier, we're not talking but drinking in celebration.

Edit: on reviewing the video, it's a Purdue D lineman who hits the pile from the side causing more movement.
 
Last edited:
#87
#87
Whistle equals the play is dead,always has or at least I thought so.How they can blow a whistle 2 seconds after he crossed the goal line then say forward progress was stopped and it's the official decision.I mean I can't make any sense of this sh*t.


Let me put it this way. I feel our entire team, all our coaches, and all our fans need to go to a pharmacy, and get home pregnancy tests. We got screwed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NEO
#88
#88
Pushing is legal, pulling isn't. Look it up. Fant pulls him forward, obviously.

via @ESPN App http://espn.com/app


Say what you will about Fant pulling. Did they flag him for it? No? Then that means absolutely nothing.

Momentum was not stopped and the back was on top of a defensive player. It was a touchdown.
 
#89
#89
Say what you will about Fant pulling. Did they flag him for it? No? Then that means absolutely nothing.

Momentum was not stopped and the back was on top of a defensive player. It was a touchdown.
Say what you will about "wanting the rules to be followed"...... you don't.
 
#91
#91
Then it should have been ruled a touchdown for Tennessee and a penalty on Tennessee. Instead, the refs missed both calls, by not calling it a touchdown, and by not throwing a flag on the play.
Actually, forward progress is very often determined before the whistle, then guys get pushed forward or back, then the whistle blows. You see it MANY times a game where a play isn't blown dead for quite a bit and the spot is nowhere near where the whistle was blown.
 
#92
#92
Actually, forward progress is very often determined before the whistle, then guys get pushed forward or back, then the whistle blows. You see it MANY times a game where a play isn't blown dead for quite a bit and the spot is nowhere near where the whistle was blown.

Yes, I know, but on the play in question, forward progress had not been stopped. It was a bad call.
 
#93
#93
Believe me...the Music City Bowl LOVES UT. They sell the stadium out and make the bowl a ton of money. If they ever ask again...REFUSE....and say the refs they hire deliberately screw them and tell MCB committee go to hell.
 
#94
#94
NCAA Football 2013 and 2014 Rules and Interpretations Rule 9, Section 3, Article 2-b (Page FR-96 or 98/216 on my reader) states:
The ball carrier shall not grasp a teammate; and no other player of his team​
shall grasp, pull, or lift him to assist him in forward progress.​
Yeah but that happens about every game, wasn’t what was called and when do you remember that being enforced last? You telling me seriously that you haven’t seen other teams routinely assist the ball carrier on close spots?
 
#95
#95
We coulda done this...shoulda done that etc etc...but you can say that about every team in every game. Brass tacks...we got screwed and everybody knows it. We should not sit back and take this sh*t and say "oh well." No way. We won that game. Total BS.
 
#96
#96
Yeah but that happens about every game, wasn’t what was called and when do you remember that being enforced last? You telling me seriously that you haven’t seen other teams routinely assist the ball carrier on close spots?
Pushing is legal, pulling isn't.

Stupid but true in the NFL and NCAA. I'm told that neither pushing nor pulling is legal in HS yet but I'm pretty sure I've seen pushing this year in HS.
 
#97
#97
Yes, I know, but on the play in question, forward progress had not been stopped. It was a bad call.
I don't know what to say except watch the video and watch what happens before Fant grabs him.

We can disagree but he's pretty much laying there, granted not on the ground but not going anywhere until Fant reaches out and starts pulling.
 
#98
#98
We coulda done this...shoulda done that etc etc...but you can say that about every team in every game. Brass tacks...we got screwed and everybody knows it. We should not sit back and take this sh*t and say "oh well." No way. We won that game. Total BS.
Really nothing else anyone can do. I’m sure we will file something about that call but that will be the end of it.
 
It's interesting to see people insisting the refs obey the rules about forward progress but.......

for one that wasn’t even called……sooooo

“Missing” a call…per say is totally different than blowing a game by “claiming” progress when the runner progressed to the end zone.

Your trying to bring in an obscure rule that is literally never called. That happens an probably 50% of “scrums”……probably more…….and it’s not called.

You know and everyone knows Tennessee got jobbed on that play…….you simply keep trying to make a point that doesn’t even matter.

Even “if” they were to call it…….Tennessee would have gotten another play.
 
Advertisement



Back
Top