Incompetent Officiating?

Agreed with most in this thread, it's an endictment on the Coach. His vision, his personality, his influence...he comes across on camera as arrogant.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person
As long as part of the player (i.e. the top of his helmet) intersects the centers beltline, he is on the line.
 
Both of these holds were on the same play and the RB went right by both holds with no call. 94 for us is literally being grabbed by the neck and yallsnumber 63 tackles our DT lol.... it went both ways y'all.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0075.jpg
    IMG_0075.jpg
    42.3 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0076.jpg
    IMG_0076.jpg
    50.8 KB · Views: 0
Or this, grabs his wrist but also impedes his path to the ball which is pass interference.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0081.jpg
    IMG_0081.jpg
    55.9 KB · Views: 2
  • IMG_0083.jpg
    IMG_0083.jpg
    47.9 KB · Views: 0
The receiver turned into the defender on this one. How can you call PI if the receiver runs into the defender?

It's a pass interference when the DB impedes the path of the WR to the ball. Now, if the DB would have made a play on the ball, because he has equal rights to the ball it wouldn't have been a pass interference, but he didn't.
 
It's a pass interference when the DB impedes the path of the WR to the ball. Now, if the DB would have made a play on the ball, because he has equal rights to the ball it wouldn't have been a pass interference, but he didn't.

The TN DB is running straight down the field. The GT WR ran in to him.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person
Techfan, we plead guilty on the hold. Good no call on the "PI" though. Receivers and DBs hand fight on nearly every pass and it isn't called. Like the announcers said, the throw wasn't in the right spot to warrant a call.

Also, put your phone on charge.
 
The TN DB is running straight down the field. The GT WR ran in to him.

Yes he ran into him trying to make a play on the ball, the DB has to make a play on the ball for it to not be PI, when he doesn't turn and make a play on the ball it's called impeding the path of the WR to the ball.
 
Techfan, we plead guilty on the hold. Good no call on the "PI" though. Receivers and DBs hand fight on nearly every pass and it isn't called. Like the announcers said, the throw wasn't in the right spot to warrant a call.

Also, put your phone on charge.

I am charging right now lol. And I will have to disagree because it was still a catchable ball. If the DB would have made a play on the ball I wouldn't have an argument but he did impede the WR's path to the ball.
 
Yes he ran into him trying to make a play on the ball, the DB has to make a play on the ball for it to not be PI, when he doesn't turn and make a play on the ball it's called impeding the path of the WR to the ball.

The WR isn't allowed to go through the DB when the QB throws the ball on the opposite side of the DB from the WR. It's not impeding the path when the WR turns left and runs right into the DB.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 2 people
I am charging right now lol. And I will have to disagree because it was still a catchable ball. If the DB would have made a play on the ball I wouldn't have an argument but he did impede the WR's path to the ball.

I think you guys witness so few passing plays that you aren't familiar with what does and does not get called PI in 2017 😉
 
  • Like
Reactions: 4 people
The WR isn't allowed to go through the DB when the QB throws the ball on the opposite side of the DB from the WR. It's not impeding the path when the WR turns left and runs right into the DB.

Not true, might want to read the rule book. The DB has to make a play on the ball when it's a catchable ball for the WR. The ball was catchable and the DB did not make a play on the ball. liie I said if he would have made a play on the ball it would have been a no PI play. It's the same reason we got called for PI in the end zone. If we would have turned our head and made a play on the ball it wouldn't have been PI.
 
What really bothered me was not some of the missed calls, though there were many. I thought they were consistently spotting the ball incorrectly. I noticed it at the game and then, last night when I watched it on TV I thought he same thing.
 
Not true, might want to read the rule book. The DB has to make a play on the ball when it's a catchable ball for the WR. The ball was catchable and the DB did not make a play on the ball. liie I said if he would have made a play on the ball it would have been a no PI play. It's the same reason we got called for PI in the end zone. If we would have turned our head and made a play on the ball it wouldn't have been PI.

They have some discretion with the rule otherwise the QB would just throw the ball at the defenders back every play to get an instant PI call.
 
Numerous holds not called that were in plain sight and of course the block in the back on Gaulden.



Yeah, in the stadium, it was pretty obvious that they were "letting them play," which I thought worked out poorly for us. There was a pretty obvious hold on one of our LBs or DEs on a play that GT ran in for a touchdown. The GT player held just long enough to let the ballcarrier slip to the outside, and then held his hands up.
 
I think its 6, maybe 7 on the los but i think 6. So it should be illegal formation. I guess they were trying to get an edge on the pull since that play went right and i think those two pulled that way.
The penalty in college is 5 in the backfield. In the event that there are only 10 players in the game, if there are no more than 4 in the backfield, there is no penalty. In high school the requirement is 7 on LOS.
 
Just like airplanes without pilots, football games without referees are coming as well. Discuss..........
 
Play after play after play, at the line of scrimmage and in the open field I saw GT offensive players diving into the legs of Vol defenders at or below the knees. Frequently, the offensive players were outside of the "10-to-2" region of the defender. I considered these illegal blocks and dangerous to the well-being of the defenders. In light of the following NCAA rules clarification, what say you? Did GT commit numerous uncalled illegal blocks?

9. Blocking Below the Waist (Rule 9-1-6) FR-89
Changes to paragraph a: (New language is in bold italics)
“a. Team A prior to a change of team possession:
1. The following Team A players may legally block below the waist inside the tackle box until they leave the tackle box or until the ball has left the tackle box: (a) players on the line of scrimmage completely inside the tackle box and (b) stationary backs who are at least partially inside the tackle box and at least partially inside the frame of the body of the second lineman from the snapper.
2. Except as in paragraph 3 (below), players not covered in paragraph 1 (above) while the ball is still in the tackle box, and all players after the ball has left the tackle box, are allowed to block below the waist only if the force of the initial contact is directed from the front. “From the front” is understood to mean within the clock-face region between “10 o’clock and 2 o’clock” forward of the player being blocked.
3. Players not covered in paragraph 1 (above) may not block below the waist toward the line through the original position of the ball at the snap until the ball carrier is clearly beyond the neutral zone.
4. Once the ball has left the tackle box a player may not block below the waist toward his own end line.”
 

VN Store



Back
Top