Quote:
Originally Posted by kidbourbon
Here is a link to the rulebook:
http://www.ncaapublications.com/prod...loads/FR09.pdf
The rule in question is rule 11-1-1. It can be found at page 142 of the linked PDF file. It states as follows:
The officials jurisdiction begins 60 minutes before the scheduled kickoff
and ends when the referee declares the score final [S14].
The NCAA rulebook specifically enumerates -- at page 19 of the linked PDF -- rule 11-1-1 as "an administrative rule that cannot be altered".
I don't know how this is anything other than the end of the analysis. Vols win 20-17. Everything that happened after the referee called the game was just a scrimmage. Because at that point -- per the NCAA -- the game was over. Under the rules, the offiicials had no authority to review the attempted spike.
I can't state that emphatically enough. Once the game was called, the officials -- and the rule does not distinguish between on-field officials and booth officials -- are no longer officials. You and your buddies could dress up like officials and run on the field after the ref calls the game....and you have just as much authority to review a play as the actual refs -- zero.
This is a huge elephant in the room.