how many times have refs beat UK at UK

#77
#77
View attachment 194123

This is before he makes contact. It was clearly coming out of the cylinder. The refs had nothing to do with UK blowing this game.



Here is the ball at time of contact by LSU... Just hate to lose the true top 5 matchup and maybe giving them additional motivation due to being dinged by the non-call. Win or lose we were better off with KY win and LSU loss in my view of the world....
1550076221795.png
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: SpaceCoastVol
#78
#78
The ball hit the cylinder resulting in a bounce.

Technically, it wasn’t on the cylinder at the time when Reid made hand contact with the ball so that’s why the call wasn’t reversed.

It was a tough call to make but they got it right.
View attachment 194123

This is before he makes contact. It was clearly coming out of the cylinder. The refs had nothing to do with UK blowing this game.



DON'T CONFUSE THE RIM WITH THE IMAGINARY CYLINDER
 
#79
#79
the cylinder is the space above the rim. The photo clearly shows the ball still in the cylinder and the position of the hand tipping it back in would never let the entire ball clear that imaginary line. (look at the hand--theres not enough room) The ball was still unplayable when he tapped it back in! But if that was not reviewable, they got it right! If it was reviewable, we would have had an overtime game!
 
#84
#84
when we don't know, we need to ask someone who does. Where does "in" the cylinder start and where does it stop? Does only a part of the ball need to be outside the cylinder, or does the entire ball have to be out of the cylinder?

Part of the ball was still in the cylinder and any ref would have seen that! But maybe if part of the ball was outside the cylinder, then that is enough to be clear!

I don't know and would appreciate hearing from anybody who does.

I'll hang up and listen!
 
  • Like
Reactions: OneVolNation
#86
#86
We have two shots at KY and only visit LSU and if we end up in a tie with losses and lose at LSU they get higher seed...
That's cool, but like I said any time UK loses it's fine by me. Hearing UK fans crying about the refs (because every game they've ever lost is because of the refs) is music to my ears.
 
  • Like
Reactions: HollowaytoSeivers
#88
#88
Art. 2. Basket interferencea.Basket interference occurs when a player:1.Touches the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket;2-BasketballRule from JC.indd 848/5/2013 9:09:29 AM

Rule 9 / violations and penalties852.Touches the ball while any part of it is within the cylinder that has the ring as its lower base; 3.Reaches through the basket from below and touches the ball before it enters the cylinder; or4.Pulls down a movable ring so that it contacts the ball before the ring returns to its original position.5.Causes the basket or backboard to vibrate when the ball is on or within the basket or the backboard and/or is on or in the cylinder.b.The cylinder is the imaginary geometric figure that has the ring as its base and is formed by the upward extension of that ring.c.The ball shall be considered to be within the basket when any part of the ballis below the cylinder and the level of the ring.d.A player may have a hand legally in contact with the ball, when this contact continues after the ball enters the cylinder or when, during such action, the player touches or grabs the basket. hope this helps
 
#89
#89
That was clearly an offensive goal tending that was not called.... hope they are dejected and not incensed Saturday...

Nobody thought that was a goal tend except Kentucky fans. It was a clear tip back.

Also, you cant review/overturn goal tending calls.

the question was did it beat the clock or not. It did and Kentucky loses so why is anyone complaining?
 
#90
#90
That was clearly an offensive goal tending that was not called.... hope they are dejected and not incensed Saturday...[/QUOTE You watch Kentucky and for that matter any other team they take on the personality of their coach. Memphis flops when they get close to someone. Kentucky is just like Cal. They have never committed a foul since Cal has been their coach.
 
#91
#91
Everybody can say it was or it wasnt. The bottom line is ,the goal tending was not reviewable so it does not matter.
 
#94
#94
Art. 2. Basket interferencea.Basket interference occurs when a player:1.Touches the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket;2-BasketballRule from JC.indd 848/5/2013 9:09:29 AM

Rule 9 / violations and penalties852.Touches the ball while any part of it is within the cylinder that has the ring as its lower base; 3.Reaches through the basket from below and touches the ball before it enters the cylinder; or4.Pulls down a movable ring so that it contacts the ball before the ring returns to its original position.5.Causes the basket or backboard to vibrate when the ball is on or within the basket or the backboard and/or is on or in the cylinder.b.The cylinder is the imaginary geometric figure that has the ring as its base and is formed by the upward extension of that ring.c.The ball shall be considered to be within the basket when any part of the ballis below the cylinder and the level of the ring.d.A player may have a hand legally in contact with the ball, when this contact continues after the ball enters the cylinder or when, during such action, the player touches or grabs the basket. hope this helps


I started this thread and now after reading some comments about a defensive hand through the ring, and your excerpt from the rule book I can now talk out of both sides of my mouth.... the officials definitely missed a call, but not sure which one.... a KY defender did run his hand through the ring as the shot was on it's way (I originally reviewed after this point) to the backboard, but was below the basket including the net before the ball contacted the backboard and certainly did not touch the ball at anytime as called out n the rule. So I don't know if that violated the rule as written or not. If it did, then the following missed call on the offensive goal tending was moot as the basket should be awarded. Don't see the ring being pulled down or the contact with the net causing vibration. BUT.. a goal tending or basket interference call should have been made one way or the other and the question of if the tip was before the red light came on would also be moot... Some official will have to define if KY was guilty before the tip or not.
 
#95
#95
A players hand going through the rim and altering the trajectory of the ball would be a rim violation, not goaltending by the definition of the rule.

A Kentucky player did Stick his hand through the goal, but removed it long before the ball got there. That is not a rim violation. Should not even be part of the discussion.
 
#96
#96
Actually, if you watch the replay, PJ Washington slapped the backboard and you can see in the light reflection that it moved... THAT was the missed call
 
Advertisement



Back
Top