Horses

barknoxbrawler

I’m new to horses. Besides riding a few times growing up, I have very little knowledge of them besides what I have read. With that said, I have 80 acres behind my house my neighbors own who lease it to a farmer. They told me to put whatever I want on it and I don’t want to get into it with the leasee. So.........I’ve always wanted a horse!

I’ve got room to build a small barn for shelter and storage for feed and tack on my property but on he fence row of the 80 acres. Pasture has good grass and I’d supplement feed in to keep a good diet in place.

Since I’d be new at this, what is the first thing I’d be looking for in a horse. Temperament and big enough to hold me is key so I’m thinking a 16 hand 1,100 to 1,200 pounder I should be looking for.

What say you VN? I don’t mind the work and the money for upkeep but I will keep the cost of purchasing the animal in a manageable are.

No advice, just wish you well and hope you find a good one. I had horses growing up and they're awesome animals.

Do you have a specific preference in terms of breed or coloration pattern? I have no personal knowledge of them, but this site (EquineNow - Horses for Sale) looks like a good resource in terms of determining an appropriate price range. Search terms also can be selected for virtually any breed and/or state, depending on how far afield you are willing to go in search of your horse.

I like Appys. 😊 As a teen I worked as a stable hand and mucked out stalls, groomed, and kept boarded horses rode down for a local horse farm. I didn't train..just kept them used to someone on their back so when owners showed up they could ride their horse without it bucking up, turning round and heading back to the barn.