Clarification on Muffed Punt Rule

#1

buffaloblue

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
7,225
Likes
6,245
#1
I dont want this to be a let Eric Gordon off the hook thread, cause there is no excuse.

What I am curious about is the rule that some people are stating the ball has to hit the ground before the catcher loses the right to field the ball.

Does anyone have clarification on this rule?
 
#3
#3
Posted this in another thread, but here's what the NCAA rulebook says:

When a valid fair catch signal is made, the unimpeded opportunity to catch
a free or scrimmage kick is extended to a player who muffs the kick and still
has an opportunity to complete the catch. This protection terminates when the
kick touches the ground. If the player subsequently catches the kick, the ball is
placed where it was first touched (A.R. 6-5-1-I-IV).
 
#7
#7
In the pros you have to let the returner get a second chance.( titans game last year). I guess in college that is not the case. He needs to catch the f'n ball! GBO! Looks like we are in trouble....
Posted via VolNation Mobile
 
#8
#8
Posted this in another thread, but here's what the NCAA rulebook says:

When a valid fair catch signal is made, the unimpeded opportunity to catch
a free or scrimmage kick is extended to a player who muffs the kick and still
has an opportunity to complete the catch. This protection terminates when the
kick touches the ground. If the player subsequently catches the kick, the ball is
placed where it was first touched (A.R. 6-5-1-I-IV).


Probably reviewable, then reversible, if you are upper echelon SEC team... :good!:
 
#10
#10
In the pros you have to let the returner get a second chance.( titans game last year). I guess in college that is not the case. He needs to catch the f'n ball! GBO! Looks like we are in trouble....
Posted via VolNation Mobile

you need to read the freaking rule!

ARTICLE 1. a. When a Team B player makes a fair catch, the ball becomes dead
where caught and belongs to Team B at that spot.
b. When a valid fair catch signal is made, the unimpeded opportunity to catch
a free or scrimmage kick is extended to a player who muffs the kick and still
has an opportunity to complete the catch. This protection terminates when the
kick touches the ground. If the player subsequently catches the kick, the ball is​
placed where it was first touched (A.R. 6-5-1-I-IV).
 
#11
#11
We are down 20 at the half, this one play is meaningless right now. Gordon fumbled a kick also.
 
#13
#13
We are down 20 at the half, this one play is meaningless right now. Gordon fumbled a kick also.

I'd say the difference in a two and three possession game is pretty far from meaningless, smart one...
Posted via VolNation Mobile
 
#18
#18
They need to play football and quit worrying about rule technicalities. The big thing is the GA offensive line hammering at knees about 2 out of 3 plays. That's nasty and I hope somebody goes after them.
 
#19
#19
you need to read the freaking rule!

ARTICLE 1. a. When a Team B player makes a fair catch, the ball becomes dead
where caught and belongs to Team B at that spot.
b. When a valid fair catch signal is made, the unimpeded opportunity to catch
a free or scrimmage kick is extended to a player who muffs the kick and still
has an opportunity to complete the catch. This protection terminates when the
kick touches the ground. If the player subsequently catches the kick, the ball is​
placed where it was first touched (A.R. 6-5-1-I-IV).


Expect that the SEC office will say that the officials would have been "over-officiating" had they made the right call... :)
 
#21
#21
He should have made a better attempt to recover the muff

A rule is a rule. WHat's your point? that's irrelevant. He had little to no chance of gettin that back since the Georgia player jumped the gun and broke the rules.
Posted via VolNation Mobile
 
#22
#22
you need to read the freaking rule!

ARTICLE 1. a. When a Team B player makes a fair catch, the ball becomes dead
where caught and belongs to Team B at that spot.
b. When a valid fair catch signal is made, the unimpeded opportunity to catch
a free or scrimmage kick is extended to a player who muffs the kick and stil
has an opportunity to complete the catch
This protection terminates when the

kick touches the ground. If the player subsequently catches the kick, the ball is​
placed where it was first touched (A.R. 6-5-1-I-IV).


Relax Patrick. Same team! GBO!!!
Posted via VolNation Mobile
 
#23
#23
I remember this rule applying to a Titans game from last year. I can't believe no one noticed it on the field or in the booth.
 
#24
#24
This happened in another college game within the last 2 weeks. Guy called for fair catch, muffed ball and defensive player hit returner and recovered the ball for the kicking team. Play was reversed and returning team got the ball back. Gordon should have been allowed to catch the ball before it hit the ground.
 
#25
#25
Who cares about the rule? It's only Tennessee. No big deal. We are the team that can lose a game that has already ended in our favor. Rules only apply when they favor our opponent.
Posted via VolNation Mobile
 
Advertisement



Back
Top