Another phantom catch

#1

Coach Grizz

Chocolate Thunder
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
15,728
Likes
5
#1
The catch that Florida (from what I could see that they didn't make) help set up their final touchdown had a familiar feel from back in 2000 with Jabar gaffney.... If refs would had called it incomplete we would have had them 3rd and long (correct me if I'm wrong) in which we were struggling in
that area but damn it ifs and buts were candy and nuts......
 
#4
#4
I was at the game, so I couldn't tell, but a friend (UT fan) watching on TV said it was a legit catch.

I didn't see much difference between what happened on that play and what happened in the Bears/Lions game last Sunday. He didn't seem to hold the ball through the whole process of making the catch, nevermind whether he came down inbounds or not, which was questionable as well. Why the play wasn't at least reviewed I'll never know.
 
#5
#5
I was at the game, so I couldn't tell, but a friend (UT fan) watching on TV said it was a legit catch.

Cool, I don't know, it looked like to me he didn't have control of it then rolled out of bounds but thanks for clearing it up.
Posted via VolNation Mobile
 
#6
#6
I didn't see much difference between what happened on that play and what happened in the Bears/Lions game last Sunday. He didn't seem to hold the ball through the whole process of making the catch, nevermind whether he came down inbounds or not, which was questionable as well. Why the play wasn't at least reviewed I'll never know.

I don't why it wasn't reviewed either!!
Posted via VolNation Mobile
 
#7
#7
The refs might well have ruled in favor of UF, but at least take the time to make sure you get it right. Especially in the 4th quarter of a seven point game.
 
#11
#11
Was not a catch

I'm watching the gator broadcast right now and their announc crew clammed up.

Moore came down on top of EG and never made a football move, when his arm hit the ground he dropped the ball.

Should have been at least reviewed, and then ruled incomplete
Posted via VolNation Mobile
 
#12
#12
Was not a catch

I'm watching the gator broadcast right now and their announc crew clammed up.

Moore came down on top of EG and never made a football move, when his arm hit the ground he dropped the ball.

Should have been at least reviewed, and then ruled incomplete
Posted via VolNation Mobile

His feet hit down in bounds before he even rolled and set the ball on the sideline. It was a catch, no doubt about it. It was a great catch, kudos to him. :clap:
 
#13
#13
His feet hit down in bounds before he even rolled and set the ball on the sideline. It was a catch, no doubt about it. It was a great catch, kudos to him. :clap:

Agree... definitely a catch. They got it right (and for all we know probably saw the same replays we did confirming they got it right) so there was no need to officially review it.
 
#14
#14
Was not a catch

I'm watching the gator broadcast right now and their announc crew clammed up.

Moore came down on top of EG and never made a football move, when his arm hit the ground he dropped the ball.

Should have been at least reviewed, and then ruled incomplete
Posted via VolNation Mobile

His leg hit the ground inbounds before his elbow hit the ground....What football move could he have made in that situation ??...

Not being a jerk, just asking...It looked like a catch to me after the first replay...
 
#16
#16
It happened on 3rd and long. Catch or not they should have reviewed it considering the implications of the play.
Posted via VolNation Mobile
 
#18
#18
When going to the ground while making a catch the receiver has to get up with the football, it's the same thing as calvin johnson's non td vs the bears...

If the player can make a football move before going out of bounds then him dropping the ball is just considered a fumble out of bounds, but since no move was made he needed to maintain possession thru his fall, which he did not do
Posted via VolNation Mobile
 
#20
#20
When going to the ground while making a catch the receiver has to get up with the football, it's the same thing as calvin johnson's non td vs the bears...
Posted via VolNation Mobile

No he doesn't and no it isn't. Plus, Johnson's non catch was the incorrect call so that's a bad example.
 
#21
#21
When going to the ground while making a catch the receiver has to get up with the football, it's the same thing as calvin johnson's non td vs the bears...

If the player can make a football move before going out of bounds then him dropping the ball is just considered a fumble out of bounds, but since no move was made he needed to maintain possession thru his fall, which he did not do
Posted via VolNation Mobile

Jay quit BS-ING. He caught the ball,got hit , got a foot down. Yeah he got up without the ball but he made a legit catch on the play. You know he did.
 
#22
#22
IMO and by the letter of the rule, I agree with Jay. However, I think the rule is stupid and it should be a catch as called.
 
#23
#23
No he doesn't and no it isn't. Plus, Johnson's non catch was the incorrect call so that's a bad example.

Actually by rule Johnson's was the correct call. No one is arguing that it was an incorrect call, all ESPN has talked about all week is that the rule is bad. The Florida receiver basically did the same thing, caught the ball in the air landed in bounds with possession and then lost the ball when he hit the ground. The problem with football is that each league has there own, sometimes contradictory, rules. So what would be called incomplete in one league may be compete in another. In the NFL the Florida reception would've been incomplete, in college I think it is complete but without looking at the rule cannot be sure.
 
#24
#24
Regardless, anyone who starts a thread like this is grasping at straws. Let's just focus on getting better and not having to worry about simple 3rd down calls making or breaking us.
 
#25
#25
When going to the ground while making a catch the receiver has to get up with the football, it's the same thing as calvin johnson's non td vs the bears...

If the player can make a football move before going out of bounds then him dropping the ball is just considered a fumble out of bounds, but since no move was made he needed to maintain possession thru his fall, which he did not do
Posted via VolNation Mobile

Maybe it would be helpful for you to quote the rule from the rulebook. That would provide a level of focus which the thread is lacking at the moment.
 

Advertisement



Back
Top