Recruiting forum off topic thread (no politics, covid, or hot button issues)

I am just joking around. We should have a broad based energy policy. Too much money passing between Washington politicians and energy industry. No disrespect to you
No worries, I totally agree the grid needs to be diversified and probably rebuilt. Love talking this stuff I follow alot of energy news and podcasts.

Reactions: SoilVol
Truth, there is very strong evidence that we may be in a grand solar minimum and it’s going to be colder for a while.

Exactly. There will always be trouble inferring macro effects while using micro data due to the accuracy of assumptions used in the analysis combined with no certainty of timing of past, present and future events.

But what do I know, I am a creationist. lol.

Here are my brief thoughts on climate change. I am not an expert, but I have some experience thinking about climate and weather. I have two degrees in meteorology.

We know that climate change is a real thing. We alter our climates every day. Some examples of this are urban heat islands, creation of snow from factory exhaust, lake-effect snow off of Wheeler lake in Alabama, etc. Additionally, we know that ancient civilizations have died off due to deforestation of their area which forced a drought in those communities.

We know that climate change is real and happens almost every day. However, we do not know the effects of changing our climate. Do not let anyone say they do...

The issue is that we rely on forecast models to determine how our climate would change. Forecast models are really cool and do a pretty good job most of the time. However, these models have errors and these errors compound on themselves the further in the future you go. This makes determining long range forecasts very difficult. For example, February by most long-range models was going to be a warm month for the eastern United States. How did that work out? Not great.