Recruiting Forum Football Talk II

Status
Not open for further replies.
Little late to this discussion, but I’m a civil defense attorney. It’s important to note that there is a significant difference in how an insurer looks at first party PIP/medpay, UM, and property damage claims vs. third party injury claims. My experience is that insurers generally try to take care of their insureds, though there are certainly differences in how various insurers approach claims.

Also, probably 60-70% of the injury claims that land on my desk range from exaggerated to fraudulent. What I regularly see that drives me crazy is a claimant who could have rested, iced, taken some ibuprofen and maybe done some PT for 2-4 weeks and been fine. Instead, they called an attorney from a commercial, who referred them to a chiropractor, who sent them to an ortho, who got an MRI and did injections, all within 4-8 weeks. The claimant now has $12-15k in wildly inflated medical bills that they can’t pay back unless they recover in a lawsuit.

That’s not a shot at Plaintiff’s attorneys generally, but I see that everyday, particularly when it comes to big, billboard personal injury firms.
I know exactly what you're talking about. About 10 years ago, during Christmas shopping, my wife was backing out of a parking space and bumped into the back quarter panel of a car waiting for a parking space. The dent was barely visible and pictures were taken of the incident.

The lady claimed whiplash from the incident and our insurance company paid the lady $4K and my insurance rates went straight up. They didn't tell me about the payment until I started questioning why my rates were increasing. This was not a fly by night insurance company either. If I'm ever in an accident, I'm going straight to a shady doctor and just get in line for my check.

Bama is whining about it