Sports Card Collectors!

CagleMtnVol

Anyone else collect cards? Been thinking about getting back in it a little more.

Anyone ever send cards to be graded?

I recently found a grading service based in Knoxville I'm thinking of giving a try. I've always held off due to the expense that most grading services charge and fear of cards getting lost in the mail.

Anyone else collect cards? Been thinking about getting back in it a little more.

I recently found a grading service based in Knoxville I'm thinking of giving a try. I've always held off due to the expense that most grading services charge and fear of cards getting lost in the mail.
I’ve gotten the itch to get back into it lately so started doing some research and it’s a whole new game from when I was a kid collecting. There’s a Reddit group that discusses everything in pretty good detail but some of it is just overwhelming. It’s crazy how expensive the hobby has become too

I’m no expert, but a few nuggets I have learned since getting reintroduced to cards in the past couple of years may be helpful.
1. Other than Michael Jordan rookie cards, there’s not much from the 80s or early 90s that’s gonna be worth enough to justify the cost of grading.
2. There are some valuable card from the 70s but you’ll need a perfect 10 grade for most of those to justify the cost of grading.
3. If you think your card could be a 10, it’s probably a 5 or 6.

I’m no expert, but a few nuggets I have learned since getting reintroduced to cards in the past couple of years may be helpful.
1. Other than Michael Jordan rookie cards, there’s not much from the 80s or early 90s that’s gonna be worth enough to justify the cost of grading.
2. There are some valuable card from the 70s but you’ll need a perfect 10 grade for most of those to justify the cost of grading.
3. If you think your card could be a 10, it’s probably a 5 or 6.