Why wasn't Cody flagged for removing his helmet?

#1

Outdors21

A new hope.
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
1,618
Likes
1
#1
How does Bama not get a misconduct penalty for having 50 players on the field before the play is dead.

Since it was blocked, the play isn't dead until the ball is touched again.
 
#2
#2
yes that should be a 15 yard penalty and a re-kick, yet another missed call by our SEC referees. FML
 
#3
#3
The ball didn't cross the line of scrimmage, and it was still a live play.

Cody yanked his helmet off as soon as the kick was blocked and was celebrating.

Should have been 15 yards and another opportunity for Lincoln to eff up.
 
#6
#6
Yep. I believe it should have been. Seconds were still on the clock and we kicked on 3rd down, so yeah...we should have had another try.
 
#10
#10
Game deciding screw-ups by SEC officials are ALWAYS in favor of Bama and the gators! It's Slives way of trying to get an SEC team into the National Championship game.
 
#14
#14
B/c no ref wants to be "that ref." The one who calls a post-big play penalty and causes the number 1 team, and gets criticized and death threats afterwards

But mainly noone's going to make that call on a number 1 team unless it's overly blatantly obvious/harmful
 
#15
#15
ended up being a change of possession.. did not matter.


So as soon as the FG is blocked it is a change in possession? Or is it once the play is dead? Just asking cause I don't really know. You may be right, but the posession ? has to be asked to say wheter it would have mattered or not. Bottom line is there is no way Cody should have been allowed to block that kick!!!
 
#16
#16
The ball was rolling around at the line of scrimmage and the play wasn't dead. I hate to see a flag like that thrown, but looking at the replay, it looked pretty obvious.
 
#17
#17
It WAS blatant. It's as automatic as a roughing the kicker.....that runs to the sideline and flexes. Oh well, were coming for all of 'em. The Vols are coming. Genghis Khan style. Gators, Bammers and dawgs beware
 
#19
#19
everyone learn the rules...the play wasnt over...AND alabama recovered...so that means they would have gotten a 15 yard penalty and just kneeled it...
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person
#20
#20
After the blocked kick, no one saw the ball and the referee was pointing it out the a bama player>>!!!!????? WTF was that? That bothers me more than the helmet. Btw Cody taking his helmet off would not be a change of possession, it would have been kicked again had the refs called it.
 
#21
#21
I am more concerned with the push that our line is giving up time after time on kicks.
 

VN Store



Back
Top