The Truth Strikes Back Hard

Vol67

July 29, 2004
Fulmer's prepared statement to the SEC Media
UT Sports Information

EDITOR'S NOTE: The following is a prepared statement Tennessee head coach Phillip Fulmer read prior to taking questions via a teleconference at the 2004 Southeastern Conference Football Media Day held in Birmingham, Ala.

STATEMENT FROM UT HEAD FOOTBALL COACH PHILLIP FULMER AT 2004 SEC MEDIA DAYS

I want to thank Commissioner Slive for allowing me this time. I regret that circumstances are such I can't be there with my players and kicking off the season as we have done for 12 seasons. I apologize for any distraction all this has caused.

I will make a statement; answer some questions I'm sure you share, take your questions, then I want to talk about our football team.

I am a football coach and not an attorney but will try to explain where I stand on some of the issues.

It's very important to understand that a lot of people believe the entire NCAA enforcement process is at stake. If we have no enforcement process, all we have is chaos - much like a country with no army or a city with no police.

It is well documented all that the University of Alabama has been through. It is not necessarily all their fault. We all fear uncontrolled boosters getting involved in our programs. There were good people trying to control it, but a few rogue boosters that took it on themselves to
get involved in the recruiting process caused this problem.

That brought on the investigation. Two coaches have pleaded guilty to federal criminal charges. Several boosters have been disassociated from the university. A federal grand jury indicted a man for racketeering. Coaches lost their jobs.

Alabama accepted responsibility and are trying to move on. Some people do not want to move on.