The Golf thread II

goldenvol

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
1,361
Likes
1,337
Holy cow!? Justin Rose just played one of the best back 9s ever.
Yep, on some seriously tough greens.

I will give credit where due, but I hate it when the European golfers do well.

My prejudice results from Ryder Cup golf so I cant stand anyone from across the pond.

I'm halfway ok with Australian's, but I want someone from America winning.

I strongly dislike Sergio. It makes my day to watch him do poorly. Weirdly enough I'm bout ok with Rory for some reason.
 

GreyWolf1129

My dog and I talk about you.
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
7,128
Likes
7,510
Bad ruling in my opinion, I didn’t see anything conclusive to warrant the penalty.
Look at the tiny mound of sand that was behind his ball when he addresses it. Then the head of the club dips one, two, three, and then four times. After the fourth "dip", it's gone. Clearly visible. And interestingly enough, no more dips once the tiny mound was gone, but an almost immediate swing. Hmmm.

IMO, intentional. He knew that any sand between the club face and the ball would alter the trajectory of the ball, so it was a deliberate, but very smooth way to try and tamp down that sand. He just got caught, or if not intentional, just screwed up. Either way, two strokes.

One of the popular golf magazines has a regular feature titled "Undercover Pro". It's an honest, sometimes funny narrative of what goes on inside the Tour. My guess would be it's a middle-of-the-pack tour pro who has good talent with his golf game, and serious talent with his words.

Bottom line: PGA Tour players cheat. Some of them don't, but most of them do, and some of them are always looking for an edge. And there are some "serial cheaters" on the Tour. No names were given, but still....

This one got caught.
 

peaygolf

Let's Go Peay!!!!
Joined
Nov 30, 2017
Messages
7,948
Likes
16,669
Look at the tiny mound of sand that was behind his ball when he addresses it. Then the head of the club dips one, two, three, and then four times. After the fourth "dip", it's gone. Clearly visible. And interestingly enough, no more dips once the tiny mound was gone, but an almost immediate swing. Hmmm.

IMO, intentional. He knew that any sand between the club face and the ball would alter the trajectory of the ball, so it was a deliberate, but very smooth way to try and tamp down that sand. He just got caught, or if not intentional, just screwed up. Either way, two strokes.

One of the popular golf magazines has a regular feature titled "Undercover Pro". It's an honest, sometimes funny narrative of what goes on inside the Tour. My guess would be it's a middle-of-the-pack tour pro who has good talent with his golf game, and serious talent with his words.

Bottom line: PGA Tour players cheat. Some of them don't, but most of them do, and some of them are always looking for an edge. And there are some "serial cheaters" on the Tour. No names were given, but still....

This one got caught.
There is always sand between the ball and the club face on a greenside bunker shot.
 
Likes: C-south

C-south

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2018
Messages
13,547
Likes
24,496
Look at the tiny mound of sand that was behind his ball when he addresses it. Then the head of the club dips one, two, three, and then four times. After the fourth "dip", it's gone. Clearly visible. And interestingly enough, no more dips once the tiny mound was gone, but an almost immediate swing. Hmmm.

IMO, intentional. He knew that any sand between the club face and the ball would alter the trajectory of the ball, so it was a deliberate, but very smooth way to try and tamp down that sand. He just got caught, or if not intentional, just screwed up. Either way, two strokes.

One of the popular golf magazines has a regular feature titled "Undercover Pro". It's an honest, sometimes funny narrative of what goes on inside the Tour. My guess would be it's a middle-of-the-pack tour pro who has good talent with his golf game, and serious talent with his words.

Bottom line: PGA Tour players cheat. Some of them don't, but most of them do, and some of them are always looking for an edge. And there are some "serial cheaters" on the Tour. No names were given, but still....

This one got caught.
I’m gonna disagree. It looked liked there was a raised clump of sand and he slightly altered it just before initiating his backswing. He just got a little too close but it had no bearing on the the shot at all especially being a greenside bunker where he’s going to be hitting behind the ball anyway.
 

GreyWolf1129

My dog and I talk about you.
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
7,128
Likes
7,510
I’m gonna disagree. It looked liked there was a raised clump of sand and he slightly altered it just before initiating his backswing. He just got a little too close but it had no bearing on the the shot at all especially being a greenside bunker where he’s going to be hitting behind the ball anyway.
Bolded text = violation of the Rules = 2 stroke penalty. You cannot alter your lie in a bunker, or ground the club (touch the sand) prior to the swing.
 

VN Store


Sponsors
 

Top