Speaking of bad calls, why didn't we get

#1

SpeedyVOL

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
1,014
Likes
685
#1
the safety when we sacked Rogers in the end zone? Go back and watch it close. His knee did not touch at the 1 yard line. It was close but it was a safety.
 
#5
#5
It appeared to me that the Vandy QB was first hit at the 1 yard line and then pushed backwards as he fell into the end zone so the spot was correct.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person
#6
#6
Offensive Facemask is a fairly uncalled penalty two. Not saying it was a bad call but stiff arms are rarely called facemasks.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person
#7
#7
It wasn't a safety. Rodgers was contacted when the ball was outside of the endzone.

Whats funny though is that if that was not at the goal line it would've been spotted further back. Refs only put in the forward progress on those plays whenever they are on the goal line.
 
#8
#8
Whats funny though is that if that was not at the goal line it would've been spotted further back. Refs only put in the forward progress on those plays whenever they are on the goal line.

Probably true. But when the play could directly result in points they are a bit more focused in spotting the ball.
 
#13
#13
Where Rodgers was when contact was made. More so, that the ball was not in the endzone when he was tackled, so no safety could be called.
 
#14
#14
well he's not down so not sure it shows anything. Not to mention he was running backwards so the "contact" really isn't the issue. I watched it a few times and don't think it was a safety but not sure that pic proves it
 
#16
#16
I don't know if you could see it on TV but after both of Bray's ints he was blatently taunted by mulitiple Vandy players. On the first one there was a Vandy DB (short for defensive back and douchebag and coincidently both apply in this case) jumping up and down and pointing in Bray's face for 5+ seconds. This all happened literally feet from a ref. If that's not taunting I don't know what is.

Really not that big of a deal to me but if we're gonna play the "rules are rules" card like many on here are doing that that's 2 15 yard unsportsmanlike calls that they missed. If you really wanna get technical about it on the 2nd one the LB that picked Bray may not have reached the endzone yet and if that's the case, under the new rule, then the ball would've been brought back to the spot of the foul.

I mean extremely ticky-tacky stuff I realize but rules are rules right?
 
#17
#17
How about the holding call on Bartholomew on our last drive in regulation? Looked like a text book block to me.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 3 people
#21
#21
well he's not down so not sure it shows anything. Not to mention he was running backwards so the "contact" really isn't the issue. I watched it a few times and don't think it was a safety but not sure that pic proves it

Not trying to be a smartarse, but that was a pretty stupid post. "he's not down so not sure it shows anything"...seriously? Dude, it's called forward progress. Where the ball was when the contact initiated. You can't possibly be a football fan and not know that. He also wasn't running backwards, he fell backwards. It happens on nearly every sack where the pressure is up the middle. I wanted it to be a safety too, but don't embarrass Vol fans by arguing those points. You're just making us all look bad.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 3 people
#22
#22
Not trying to be a smartarse, but that was a pretty stupid post. "he's not down so not sure it shows anything"...seriously? Dude, it's called forward progress. Where the ball was when the contact initiated. You can't possibly be a football fan and not know that. He also wasn't running backwards, he fell backwards. It happens on nearly every sack where the pressure is up the middle. I wanted it to be a safety too, but don't embarrass Vol fans by arguing those points. You're just making us all look bad.

he was absolutely running backwards to avoid the pressure. Just making contact doesn't end the play. I've seen lots spin out of it and go forward

I also said I didn't believe it was a safety but of course just ignore that
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person
#23
#23
Offensive Facemask is a fairly uncalled penalty two. Not saying it was a bad call but stiff arms are rarely called facemasks.

Did you see the replay of that penalty? It was the right call. Freaking Poole Grabed the facemask and pulled a few times.
 
#24
#24
Both UT Touchdowns should have had pass interference calls on the Defense...not that it would have mattered.
 
Advertisement



Back
Top