Shouldn't the clock have ran at the ready for play whistle with 1 second after a

#5
#5
I questioned this too. I will be honest though. I was at the game and it looked like the refs were going to make sure UNC won no matter what. It felt fixed. Not bad reffing. Fixed reffing.
 
#6
#6
I questioned this too. I will be honest though. I was at the game and it looked like the refs were going to make sure UNC won no matter what. It felt fixed. Not bad reffing. Fixed reffing.

Looked that way on tv too
Posted via VolNation Mobile
 
#7
#7
I questioned this too. I will be honest though. I was at the game and it looked like the refs were going to make sure UNC won no matter what. It felt fixed. Not bad reffing. Fixed reffing.

I'm not a conspiracy theorist by any means, but I'll say this: The line for the UT game was by 3 last night...it changed to UNC by 1 in the morning...
 
#8
#8
running play?

Yes, but the ref clearly (and incorrectly) stated that the spike counted, so the clock stayed stopped as if there were an incomplete pass. Since there was a penalty, the spike should not have counted, and the clock should have resumed after the review and ball being set by the official.
 
#9
#9
The officials ruled the spike was valid. Thus, the play before the field goal was an incomplete pass. The clock started on the snap for the field goal.
 
#11
#11
I don't think so. Since the clock was stopped after the spike, the clock would only start at the snap of the next play; not at the ready for play signal. They got that part right.
 
#14
#14
The officials ruled the spike was valid. Thus, the play before the field goal was an incomplete pass. The clock started on the snap for the field goal.

Hat....that is another contention I have.....shouldnt the penalty have wiped out the previous play....i.e the spike?
 
#16
#16
I don't think so. Since the clock was stopped after the spike, the clock would only start at the snap of the next play; not at the ready for play signal. They got that part right.

Yep. I just got back and watched the replay on espn, they got that right but misses at least two or three other things.
Posted via VolNation Mobile
 
#17
#17
Yep. I just got back and watched the replay on espn, they got that right but misses at least two or three other things.
Posted via VolNation Mobile

Doesn't matter ref should have stood over the ball for the substitution.
 
#18
#18
The officials ruled the spike was valid. Thus, the play before the field goal was an incomplete pass. The clock started on the snap for the field goal.

The official was clearly incorrect. The spike did not count regardless of the erroneous ruling, and there should have been a 15 yard penalty with the clock starting once the ball was set ready for play after the review.
 
#20
#20
Hat....that is another contention I have.....shouldnt the penalty have wiped out the previous play....i.e the spike?
That would seem logical. However, that probably puts two seconds on the clock. With the ridiculous college rule that doesn't provide for a runoff for an offensive penalty, they were going to get a shot at the field goal.
 
#21
#21
it's 2010 why don't we have robot refs programmed to call every play right and follow every rule.... i mean we got coke with zero calories
 
#23
#23
The officials ruled the spike was valid. Thus, the play before the field goal was an incomplete pass. The clock started on the snap for the field goal.

You're smart hat so please clear this up for me. I have not been able to get an answer. If I snapped the ball with too many men on the field and threw a touchdown pass, it would obviously not count because the play was blown dead. So how were they given the benefit of a play that was blown dead? They snapped the ball with too many men on the field and were given the benefit of a completed play that should never have counted as completed? Wouldn't the play be dead before the spike occurred? What is wrong with my logic here?
 
Last edited:
#24
#24
You're smart hat so please clear this up for me. I have not been able to get an answer. If I snapped the ball with too many men on the field and threw a touchdown pass, it would obviously not count because the play was blew dead. So how were they given the benefit of a play that was blew dead? They snapped the ball with too many men on the field and were given the benefit of a completed play that should never have counted as completed? Wouldn't the play be dead before the spike occurred? What is wrong with my logic here?
As a practical matter, I don't think it makes much difference. Either the spike or the penalty kill the clock. Thus, since there's no provision for a runoff in the college game, they were going to get a shot at the field goal. Your logic is solid. It's the college rule on end of game offensive penalties that's illogical.
 
#25
#25
NCAA rules:

Starting and Stopping the Clock


e.
Starts on the Referee’s Signal. For each of the following reasons, the game
clock is stopped. If the next play begins with a snap, the game clock will
start on the referee’s signal:

4. To complete a penalty.

The penalty should have been assessed and the clock started immediately.
 

VN Store



Back
Top