No one mentioned block in back

#26
#26
Like it or not there’s some truth to this. HIghly ranked teams tend to get called a lot less it seems.

But I will say, holding and blocking in the back are being called less and less in college football in general these days. You could count in double digits the amount of holding WVU and UF got away with alone. It’s just not called a lot anymore.

And I'm sure we did too; but we're never specifically looking for it when our team does it.
 
#28
#28
Georgia first touchdown does not occur without Godwin block in the back. While we have bad luck refs given it toes us hard this year.

I mentioned it. Between that and then letting the Gators tee off with cheap shots on our QB I have to wonder if UT has cheaped out on the ref bribes that UF and UGA are clearly keeping up on. I can't see any other way they get away with constant blatant cheating.
 
#29
#29
Thought I was the only one that saw the block in the back. Kept waiting for the announcers to say something but all Gary Danielson does is tell everyone what the already know.

Block in back on 28 was obvious,he actually pushed him twice. Gary Danielson dislike for Tn. Is also obvious!
 
#31
#31
That was not the only block in the back that was not called. Mays also had one on the same play and several more occurred later in the game.

There are some exceptions allowed for offensive linemen to block in the back between the tackles and up to three yards downfield. I don’t know if Mays was out of this “free blocking zone,” but you rarely see that called again offensive linemen.
 
#35
#35
Everyone wants to fixate on the block in the back. What about Kirkland whiffing on the tackle . I have seen too many times over the last years our guys make piss poor attempts at tackles . Until we can make open field tackles it doesn’t matter what star rating these guys have .
 
#37
#37
There are some exceptions allowed for offensive linemen to block in the back between the tackles and up to three yards downfield. I don’t know if Mays was out of this “free blocking zone,” but you rarely see that called again offensive linemen.
This was after they had recovered the fumble and was running toward the goal line. I do not know what the rules say about that situation. You may be correct.
 
#38
#38
Georgia first touchdown does not occur without Godwin block in the back. While we have bad luck refs given it toes us hard this year.

It wasn't a block in the back. He made contact with the side of our players shoulder pad as they were both running lateral. Which is a legal block.
 
#39
#39
This was after they had recovered the fumble and was running toward the goal line. I do not know what the rules say about that situation. You may be correct.

I didn’t see it, but it sounds like that would be a penalty.
 
#40
#40
It wasn't a block in the back. He made contact with the side of our players shoulder pad as they were both running lateral. Which is a legal block.

LOL. The blocker's left hand was between the numerals on the back of the jersey.

The right hand was on the shoulder pad, but you can see from the redirection that the left hand delivered the shove.

Classic way to get away with fouls. I used to call it the old high/low when I played basketball. Refs will always look at the high hand, particularly if you make a flourish of some sort that requires them to evaluate whether that hand is about to create a foul. It is a simple re-direct like magicians do. The other hand is free to do whatever.

This kid wasn't even that subtle, though. Should have been called back.
 
#41
#41
It wasn't a block in the back. He made contact with the side of our players shoulder pad as they were both running lateral. Which is a legal block.


Naw it Wasn’t a legal block, go to the 10:20 mark of the game tape on you tube and you will see. Our guy is a step and a half ahead of the guy when he starts to put his hands on his back to push him. Clearly a block in the back and a missed call. The Georgia player got away with one for sure!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alto1
#42
#42
Naw it Wasn’t a legal block, go to the 10:20 mark of the game tape on you tube and you will see. Our guy is a step and a half ahead of the guy when he starts to put his hands on his back to push him. Clearly a block in the back and a missed call. The Georgia player got away with one for sure!

That was a BS no call. A blind man could see that.
Bad officiating, period on that play.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TrueVolsGBOInsider
#43
#43
Georgia first touchdown does not occur without Godwin block in the back. While we have bad luck refs given it toes us hard this year.
🙄 yep, without that block in the back, we definitely whip Georgia’s arse. Damn, they stole the game from us.
 
Advertisement



Back
Top