I Wanna Work For This Guy! The 40 Hr Work Week

NorthDallas40

Displaced Hillbilly
https://www.cnn.com/2018/12/06/success/jason-fried-basecamp-work/index.html

So I’m in engineering. An industry notorious for people who supposedly willingly work 50+ hour weeks gladly while on salary... except that stereotype really doesn’t apply anymore.

I try to be in the office no more than 40 hrs a week. I’ll do some cleanup/planning while sitting on the couch in the evening. And this is weeknights. I’m fiercely protective of my weekends. But I’m also a senior engineer. My objectives are more outcome driven rather than task/schedule driven. And in my pay grade my incentives reflect that. IE the bastards know how to get me beyond that 40 hr value even if I’m not in the office doing so.

Discuss...

Millenials are lazy.
Stop it.

But since you brought it up... they do have a different view on the office environment and the work/life balance. We’re all getting crammed into a “collaborative work environment” because the younger engineers want it! Except they don’t. They hate it as bad as we do.

But they do seem to be much more fiercely protective of their free time than my young engineering generation was. I literally pulled all nighters in my 20’s. Work on system integration all night for new designs and head up the street to a strip club for free lunch and some eye candy before sleeping for about 16 hours.

The current generation? No damn way. And good for them.

My generation: I’m 54. Engineering intern in 1984 thru 1987 and degreed engineer since 1988. This is my 30th year in da biz

Reactions: FLVOL_79
Stop it.

But since you brought it up... they do have a different view on the office environment and the work/life balance. We’re all getting crammed into a “collaborative work environment” because the younger engineers want it! Except they don’t. They hate it as bad as we do.