bamawriter
Well-Known Member
- Joined
- Sep 24, 2010
- Messages
- 26,549
- Likes
- 17,274
I totally disagree with your interpretation of that play.
It wasn't "a second or two" before he stretched out the ball, and every replay I saw made it appear that he was on top of another player when he stretched his arm out.
The proof was on the screen in the replay booth. No one made an assumption. The runner didn't look down before he stretched the ball. He wasn't assumed to be live, he was seen to be live.
Simple question BW... from the replays that we all saw, could you prove beyond a doubt that no part of the runners body (other than his feet) had not come in contact with the ground?
This is all an assumption on your part....since you were not in the replay booth. I doubt you even watched the game at all...just want to "appear" to be someone in the know, a bamawriter. And I can assure you that no one in the replay booth saw anything that everyone who watched the game did not see also. Who do you think you are kidding?
The term is 'indisputable video evidence' and yes, the replay, particularly the one that was more head on, showed that he was on top of another player when he stretched the ball. There was no image that showed a knee, elbow, hip or anything other than a hand or foot touch the ground.
By that standard, the spot of the ball shouldn't be reviewable unless the player went out of bounds.
If the players were still playing, it's really irrelevant if the whistle blew a split second before.
I'm not trying to be argumentative BW, but either you're not understanding where I'm coming from or you're simply choosing to ignore the point some of us are making. I asked if you could prove that no other part of the body was not touching the ground, and you respond with the bold above... which is what I've been saying. There was no video that "showed a knee, elbow, hip, or anything other than a hand or foot touch the ground" because in the video you couldn't see most of the runner's body... period. If you can't see the body, then there is no way to prove that some of it had not come in contact with the ground.
You're assuming that he was ruled down in that manner. If it was ruled that he was down on top of a downed player with his progress stoppped, then the replay official would not have look for a knee or hip.
I don't know what the exact call was. I do know that the video did not show anything other than a hand or foot down.