Forward progress is reviewable…

#51
#51
Very few plays are actually ruled forward progress stopped. All of those other plays are reviewable, you can check the spot, you can find fumble recoveries, all sorts of things.

But if the play is stopped and forward progress is called, it is 1,000,000,000,000% not reviewable

Please.... search for the following thread, read and get back to us....
Forward progress is reviewable…

I don't like anything about the call, but I accept he blew the whistle. Now let's find out where the ball really was the instant he made the call and accept it. He can stop plays, he cannot move them back in time. He can wish he blew it dead with the ball at the one, but I don't think he did and they tried to hide behind the same ridiculous story line you did.
 
#52
#52
You’re absolutely right. That’s why you get to challenge the spot of the ball. It was booth review only, they reviewed the play and completely blew it. Not the first time this crew has screwed the pooch either.
 
#53
#53
They reviewed the play, but all the can do is confirm that he marked it with forward progress. Which is what he did. They couldn’t change that call, it was confirmed.

The rule is stupid, everything should be reviewable when it’s blatantly wrong.
 
#54
#54
I found this breakdown informative.
[VIDEO=]


Without even getting into if the officals got it correct or not, this dude has no idea what he's talking about, he's just a Boilermaker homer with a blog. First off it is not the referee making the call its the Linesman or Line Judge - see the "L" on his back, the only "referee" on the field is the head of the officals in the white hat who stands behind the offense. Don't act like you know football if you're calling everybody on the field in a striped shirt the referee. Secondly, he makes all these references to where the runners feet are. Where the runners feet, head, body, hands, or butt are has NOTHING to do with forward progress its where the FOOTBALL is dummy!! And guess what, the ball continued to move towards the goal line consistently throughtout the video until it crossed the goal line. It is not a penalty to push or pull a runner forward. That rule was changed a few years ago. It was just simply a bad call and it was a bad call because the Linesman thought the runner was down by contact with the ground either with the runners knee or hip, and had it been then the spot was accurate. I thought the same thing until I saw the replay and realized Wright was laying on the defender and never touched the ground. They should just have the guts to say they blew it rather than hide behind the whole "forward progress was stopped we can't review it" BS.
 
#55
#55
The rule was changed to pushing, you can push. Pulling is illegal still. I don’t think I’ve ever seen it called though
 
#56
#56
Please.... search for the following thread, read and get back to us....
Forward progress is reviewable…

I don't like anything about the call, but I accept he blew the whistle. Now let's find out where the ball really was the instant he made the call and accept it. He can stop plays, he cannot move them back in time. He can wish he blew it dead with the ball at the one, but I don't think he did and they tried to hide behind the same ridiculous story line you did.
he blew the whistle AFTER the ball broke the plane of the goal line. The Zebras admitted that. Forward progress is reviewable… IN GOAL LINE SITUATIONS. NCAA FOOTBALL RULE 12.3.3e.
 
#57
#57
The reason folks are so pi$$ed isn't because it was a bad call. Everyone knows it as a bad call. The truth of the issue is that the officials blatantly disregarded the rules of NCAA Football when it was claimed that FORWARD PROGRESS was not reviewable!!! The officials are supposed to know and uphold the rules. The "officials" who were also suspended for NOT UPHOLDING THE RULES before did it again. That is NOT only a bad call. It is an absolute usurping of the rules of football. BIG difference, and they knew it and they did it, yet another time. That is why the outrage is justified.
 
#58
#58
You’re mixing up terms, forward progress, when ruled by the line judge as a reason to stop the play is NOT REVIEWABLE. It is a judgement call, and the play is over, nothing you can do about it.

If the play is marked at the one, but the player made it into the endzone, it is reviewable. To see where his “forward progress” ended.

On our play, the ref ruled the play dead, he already had his hand up, and was coming on the field blowing his whistle as the ball crossed the plane. But none of that mattered once he put his hand up. Once he did that, there was nothing anyone could do to change that call.

It’s a stupid rule, they need to change it. But forward progress is not a reviewable call when the line judge stops a play because of it.
 
#60
#60
The real problem is that ref couldn’t wait what……one second……two seconds (maybe less) and let the play unfold? Seriously?

If he waits he could always go back and let replay do it’s job at get the call RIGHT.

I’m not sure I have ever seen forward progress (stoppage) called that quickly…….especially when the play was still going on and the player definitely still moving forward.

just such a simple play to get right if you just let it happen (and use replay if needed). For Tennessee or against Tennessee the only way to get it wrong is to do what that ref did.
 
#61
#61
You’re mixing up terms, forward progress, when ruled by the line judge as a reason to stop the play is NOT REVIEWABLE. It is a judgement call, and the play is over, nothing you can do about it.

If the play is marked at the one, but the player made it into the endzone, it is reviewable. To see where his “forward progress” ended.

On our play, the ref ruled the play dead, he already had his hand up, and was coming on the field blowing his whistle as the ball crossed the plane. But none of that mattered once he put his hand up. Once he did that, there was nothing anyone could do to change that call.

It’s a stupid rule, they need to change it. But forward progress is not a reviewable call when the line judge stops a play because of it.
The Line Judge didn’t raise his arms or blow the whistle until after the ball crossed the plane of the goal line. That crew missed calls and made phantom calls of penalties against UT throughout the game. Call it what you want, the game was decided by the officiating rather than the teams.
 
  • Like
Reactions: J-P
#62
#62
If this moron's definition of forward progress is used, then the tight end for Purdue's touchdown should be called back. He was not only stood up, but was actually knocked backward a little. Not excusing the poor excuse for tackling, but, by his definition, it should be no touchdown.
If our guys had tackled him, it would have been a late hit or unnecessary roughness.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: LSG410EC83
#63
#63
You’re mixing up terms, forward progress, when ruled by the line judge as a reason to stop the play is NOT REVIEWABLE. It is a judgement call, and the play is over, nothing you can do about it.

If the play is marked at the one, but the player made it into the endzone, it is reviewable. To see where his “forward progress” ended.

On our play, the ref ruled the play dead, he already had his hand up, and was coming on the field blowing his whistle as the ball crossed theplane. But none of that mattered once he put his hand up. Once he did that, there was nothing anyone could do to change that call.

It’s a stupid rule, they need to change it. But forward progress is not a reviewable call when the line judge stops a play because of it.

I do not think raising one hand/arm ends the play.... the rule states...

Live Ball Becomes Dead ARTICLE 2. a. A live ball becomes a dead ball as provided in the rules or when an official sounds their whistle (even though inadvertently) or otherwise signals the ball dead (A.R. 4-2-1-II and A.R. 4-2-4-I).

Raising one arm does not signal time out or a directed stoppage of play, heck that is one half of a TD signal and the beginning of keep the clock running signal. "otherwise" is a bit vague, and I think that is a backup for a dropped or bad whistle, but as this rule defines it is live until a verifiable signal makes it dead. FOR SURE the whistle is the primary method to stop play in this baseline rule. IF this guy did blow his whistle (or other), it would take precedence over any other action. The vast majority of the time a linesman runs in with one arm up is to show they are establishing a spot for a declared dead ball. See both of them doing that simultaneously all the time.

Replay simply needs to show where the ball was when the whistle or OTHER completed act made the ball dead. If the ball broke the plane during the live ball period it was a TD. Nothing in the book provides an end to the play for an official's mindset. The language in this rule is simple and plain.
 
#64
#64
Even refs have said forward progress is reviewable. The rule has been posted. Argument that the right call was made in any way at this point is simply moronic. Even ESPN says the refs changed the outcome of the game.
 
#65
#65
Even refs have said forward progress is reviewable. The rule has been posted. Argument that the right call was made in any way at this point is simply moronic. Even ESPN says the refs changed the outcome of the game.

I would recommend that anyone wanting to be in this argument go to THE NCAA INSTANT REPLAY CASEBOOK on line and go to page 21 and start reading about competitive effect, end-of-game issues and progress call reviews. It is PDF and cannot be copied and pasted on here... but easily readable in about two minutes. Where did the narrative it is not reviewable by the talking heads come from? Then it got parroted by a lot of folks. Score will never change, and neither will accuracy if people don't push envelopes.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Orangeslice13
Advertisement



Back
Top