Does anyone remember 81/82 Vols

Tumbleweedvol

I'm new to the volnation and I wanted to take some time to reminisce about my years on the hill. My first year at UT, I had the opportunity to work as a waiter at Gibbs Hall atheletic dorm cafeteria i.e. 'training tabe'. I knew people like Reggie White, Mike 'STOP' Cofer, Terry McDaniel, Willie Gault, Bill Bates, Carl Zander. All these guys eventually were pro football players. Also I got to know the BBall players. I am from East Tenn near Johnson City and I grew playing basketball against Gary Carter. He was on the team along with Howard Wood 'Woody', Dale Ellis, Ed Littleton, Michael Brooks, and yes Kevin Nash. That team with a three point line would have won a national championship without a doubt. Abot me; My moniker is Tumbleweed. The person responsible for giving me that name was Mike Terry. I wasn't enrolled the next year when he made the interception in the endzone to give Johnny Majors his only win over bama and the Bear. I have big brownish blond curly hair and Mike Terry was injured and we did the trays of food for the hurt players and he always called me Tumbleweed. Let he from you all about that basketball team of course other subjects about the 'Big Orange'.

Go Vols

I think Michael Brooks averaged around 16 pts a game without a 3 pt line his senio yr. that would have easily been 24 with a 3 pt line.

The team I remember had Ellis, Federman, Beamon. I think they were a little bit after.

Last edited: