Did they ever explain how Pitt's QB got sacked on the 28..

#4
#4
The old “forward progress.”

They had him at like the 21, and finished the sack at like the 28.

Not sure how he couldn’t have lost at least a yard or 2 from where they first laid a hand on him though.
 
#5
#5
The "Forward Progress" rule needs to be looked at. Our RB gets stripped in a pile after his "Forward Progress" has been stopped but they allow it to be a fumble. But last year in our bowl game forward progress was called stopped even though it was not stopped, too much ambiguity (sp) in the call.
 
#6
#6
The "Forward Progress" rule needs to be looked at. Our RB gets stripped in a pile after his "Forward Progress" has been stopped but they allow it to be a fumble. But last year in our bowl game forward progress was called stopped even though it was not stopped, too much ambiguity (sp) in the call.

I thought the exact same thing. It may just become known as the Tennessee rule. It only applies when it is detrimental to us in game situations.
 
#9
#9
The "Forward Progress" rule needs to be looked at. Our RB gets stripped in a pile after his "Forward Progress" has been stopped but they allow it to be a fumble. But last year in our bowl game forward progress was called stopped even though it was not stopped, too much ambiguity (sp) in the call.
They need an official 2 one thousand count.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Smokey19rt
#10
#10
Fixed that for you.

If you think they got that wrong, then that is on you.

Now…it would be interesting to know when they blew the whistle. Because the ref can’t play it both ways. He can’t call him down at the 21, but let him continue the play later if he escapes.
 
#11
#11
The "Forward Progress" rule needs to be looked at. Our RB gets stripped in a pile after his "Forward Progress" has been stopped but they allow it to be a fumble. But last year in our bowl game forward progress was called stopped even though it was not stopped, too much ambiguity (sp) in the call.

They got both calls right.
 
#13
#13
If you think they got that wrong, then that is on you.

Now…it would be interesting to know when they blew the whistle. Because the ref can’t play it both ways. He can’t call him down at the 21, but let him continue the play later if he escapes.

The QB had not given himself up, and he was desperately trying to free himself from the tackle to make a play. The whistle blew when he went down because that's when the ref's hand went up.
 
#14
#14
The QB had not given himself up, and he was desperately trying to free himself from the tackle to make a play. The whistle blew when he went down because that's when the ref's hand went up.
In fact he himself ran backwards even after that "first" contact was made before the defender really had control of him.
 
#15
#15
The QB had not given himself up, and he was desperately trying to free himself from the tackle to make a play. The whistle blew when he went down because that's when the ref's hand went up.
It’s a tough call for a referee and a defensive player. When Texas had the Alabama QB in the end zone that play probably should have been called dead for being in the grasp. The threw a penalty, which the ultimately reversed, when the defender hit the qb. But then ruled he wasn’t down and let the pass be incomplete instead of giving Texas the safety. For the safety of the qb they need to rule those plays dead or else not call defenders when the continue to go after the qb. A tough judgment call either way.
 
#16
#16
The old “forward progress.”

They had him at like the 21, and finished the sack at like the 28.

Not sure how he couldn’t have lost at least a yard or 2 from where they first laid a hand on him though.
The forward progress call should be made more often when the runner is no longer going forward. Not calling it with a pile of humanity in a scrum asks for injuries and turn overs.
 
#17
#17
Where he was when they hit him, forward progress. Not where they threw him down. They explained it during the game on the broadcast.
How does forward progress apply when the qb is running backwards attempting to avoid the rush so that he can pass the ball. After watching the play about 5 times I thought the qb quit trying to extend the play about the 24 yard line. JMO
 
#21
#21
It is so shocking how many fans don’t understand the basic rules.


Just rewatched it.

It wasnt that i was drunk...it was a sh.tty call.

The back judge went in to spot it around the 27 but apparently changed his mond or was directed to change it. The play was very much alive until the tackle was made. The QB drew his arm back to pass and had a receiver been in his vision , he would have thrown the ball.

What is not shocking is how some people want to pretend they know things they dont by always agreeing with authority figures.

They got the spot wrong. Not the first time SEC refs have gaffed. I would venture a bet its not the first time youve been wrong and an ass at the same time.
 
#22
#22
How does forward progress apply when the qb is running backwards attempting to avoid the rush so that he can pass the ball. After watching the play about 5 times I thought the qb quit trying to extend the play about the 24 yard line. JMO
He was.

And had he seen a receiver he would have thrown it. The call was incorrect.
 
Advertisement



Back
Top