Did anybody notice the spike from the shotgun?

#1

Volrog

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2008
Messages
150
Likes
3
#1
Troy spiked the ball from the shotgun formation today and I'm almost positive that's not a legal play. I know in high school it isn't.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person
#5
#5
What about the false start? Why was that not a 10 sec runoff? Can anybody help me on that?

Could be wrong, but my best guess is that since the clock was already stopped due to the spike, the false start didn't stop the clock. The ten second runoff would be applied to penalties in the last minute or two that causes the clock to stop.
 
#7
#7
Lol Don't complain about the refs, they really screwed Troy out of about 20-30 seconds on that final drive
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person
#8
#8
Once again, we all just need to go to sleep. Rest it off.
 
#9
#9
Could be wrong, but my best guess is that since the clock was already stopped due to the spike, the false start didn't stop the clock. The ten second runoff would be applied to penalties in the last minute or two that causes the clock to stop.

This.
 
#10
#10
Under center the QB can spike the ball, it is not intentional grounding as long as the QB is under center.
 
#11
#11
As long as he has a running back in beside him in shotgun he can spike the ball because there is a receiver in the area.
 
#12
#12
Lol Don't complain about the refs, they really screwed Troy out of about 20-30 seconds on that final drive

How? The clock continued to run any time Troy didn't get a first down, out of bounds, or incompletion. They were stopped a yard short once and Troy's coach got mad, but the clock doesn't stop when you're a yard short. That's why he had to burn his last timeout.
 
#13
#13
As long as he has a running back in beside him in shotgun he can spike the ball because there is a receiver in the area.

False not in the rule book, calls a spike a type incomplete pass ,in shotgun a spike is intentional grounding inside the tackle box with or without an eligible receiver present, a lineman could be an eligible receiver as long as refs are told so.
 
#14
#14
False not in the rule book, calls a spike a type incomplete pass ,in shotgun a spike is intentional grounding inside the tackle box with or without an eligible receiver present, a lineman could be an eligible receiver as long as refs are told so.

False an eligible receiver is anyone at the end of the line of scrimmage or 1 yard off the ball and wearing a number over 79 and under 50. Players on offense wearing numbers between 50 and 79 are ineligible.
 
#15
#15
This is all the rule book reads on spiking the ball. It states nothing of being under center or being in shotgun.



. INTENTIONAL GROUNDING
Change to existing Rule 7-3-2-d and f, FR-102 of the 2009-10 Rule Book:
To conserve time or avoid loss of yardage a passer may legally end the down by throwing
the ball into an area where there is an eligible receiver. The requirement that the receiver
“have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball” is no longer a part of this rule. While
under Rule 7-3-2-d the passer may end the down to conserve time by “spiking” the ball,
he may not legally spike the ball to avoid loss of yardage.
Rationale: The rules committee believes that having a receiver in the area is sufficient
justification for the passer legally to end the down.
 
#16
#16
False an eligible receiver is anyone at the end of the line of scrimmage or 1 yard off the ball and wearing a number over 79 and under 50. Players on offense wearing numbers between 50 and 79 are ineligible.

No ****!
Figured y'all knew that, and a guard can be pulled to go upfield even if an end is outside.
 
#17
#17
I got this from the ncaa football rule book:

SECTION 3. Forward Pass
Legal Forward Pass
ARTICLE 1. Team A may make one forward pass during each scrimmage down
before team possession changes, provided the pass is thrown from a point in or
behind the neutral zone.
Illegal Forward Pass
ARTICLE 2. A forward pass is illegal if:
a. It is thrown by a Team A player whose entire body is beyond the neutral
zone when he releases the ball.
b. It is thrown by a Team B player.
c. It is thrown after team possession has changed during the down.
d. It is the second forward pass during the same down.
e. The passer to conserve time throws the ball directly to the ground (1)
after the ball has already touched the ground; or (2) not immediately after
controlling the ball.
f. The passer to conserve time throws the ball forward into an area where there
is no eligible Team A receiver (A.R. 7-3-2-II-VII).
g. It is thrown from in or behind the neutral zone after a ball carrier has gone
beyond the neutral zone.
PENALTY [a-g]—Five yards from the spot of the foul; also loss of down if
by Team A before team possession changes during a scrimmage
down (A.R. 3-4-3-IV and A.R. 7-3-2-II) [S35 and S9].
h. The passer to conserve yardage throws the ball forward into an area where
there is no eligible Team A receiver (A.R. 7-3-2-I).
[Exception: If the passer is or has been outside the tackle box he may throw the
ball so that it crosses or lands beyond the neutral zone or neutral zone extended
(Rule 2-19-3) (A.R. 7-3-2-VIII). This applies only to the player who receives
the snap.]
PENALTY—Loss of down at the spot of the foul [S36 and S9].

NCAA Publications - 2011-2012 Football Rule Book (2 Year Publication)
 
#18
#18
This is all the rule book reads on spiking the ball. It states nothing of being under center or being in shotgun.



. INTENTIONAL GROUNDING
Change to existing Rule 7-3-2-d and f, FR-102 of the 2009-10 Rule Book:
To conserve time or avoid loss of yardage a passer may legally end the down by throwing
the ball into an area where there is an eligible receiver. The requirement that the receiver
“have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball” is no longer a part of this rule. While
under Rule 7-3-2-d the passer may end the down to conserve time by “spiking” the ball,
he may not legally spike the ball to avoid loss of yardage.
Rationale: The rules committee believes that having a receiver in the area is sufficient
justification for the passer legally to end the down.

How dare you ruin a thread with facts
 
#19
#19
I got this from the ncaa football rule book:

SECTION 3. Forward Pass
Legal Forward Pass
ARTICLE 1. Team A may make one forward pass during each scrimmage down
before team possession changes, provided the pass is thrown from a point in or
behind the neutral zone.
Illegal Forward Pass
ARTICLE 2. A forward pass is illegal if:
a. It is thrown by a Team A player whose entire body is beyond the neutral
zone when he releases the ball.
b. It is thrown by a Team B player.
c. It is thrown after team possession has changed during the down.
d. It is the second forward pass during the same down.
e. The passer to conserve time throws the ball directly to the ground (1)
after the ball has already touched the ground; or (2) not immediately after
controlling the ball.

f. The passer to conserve time throws the ball forward into an area where there
is no eligible Team A receiver (A.R. 7-3-2-II-VII).
g. It is thrown from in or behind the neutral zone after a ball carrier has gone
beyond the neutral zone.
PENALTY [a-g]—Five yards from the spot of the foul; also loss of down if
by Team A before team possession changes during a scrimmage
down (A.R. 3-4-3-IV and A.R. 7-3-2-II) [S35 and S9].
h. The passer to conserve yardage throws the ball forward into an area where
there is no eligible Team A receiver (A.R. 7-3-2-I).
[Exception: If the passer is or has been outside the tackle box he may throw the
ball so that it crosses or lands beyond the neutral zone or neutral zone extended
(Rule 2-19-3) (A.R. 7-3-2-VIII). This applies only to the player who receives
the snap.]
PENALTY—Loss of down at the spot of the foul [S36 and S9].

NCAA Publications - 2011-2012 Football Rule Book (2 Year Publication)

Article 2 (e)(2) is the applicable rule in this case. It is only intentional grounding if the QB waits too long to spike it. It makes no difference whether he is under center, in the shotgun, has a RB beside him, etc. The rule only mentions "...not immediately after controlling the ball"
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person
Advertisement



Back
Top