VolinArizona
not in Arizona anymore
- Joined
- Feb 16, 2006
- Messages
- 21,301
- Likes
- 1,641
I want to preface this by saying: yes, I know Follett should have been blocked; this play wasn't why we lost; etc; keep that out of this discussion.
On another Vol forum, someone pasted the rule that coincides with the Ainge "fumble."
First, here is the video: YouTube - Follett sack and Williams fumble recovery - Cal vs. Tenn 07
And here is the rule:
"If a Team B player contacts the passer or ball after forward movement begins and the ball leaves the passers hand, a forward pass is ruled regardless of where the ball strikes the ground or a player (A.R.
2-19-2-I)."
To me, it's clear that Ainge's forward throwing motion had JUST begun, and regardless of where the ball landed, it should be incomplete.
Like I said at the beginning, it doesn't matter. Cal won fair and square. However, two of the refs in our game called the Oklahoma-Oregon game last year.
Have fun.
On another Vol forum, someone pasted the rule that coincides with the Ainge "fumble."
First, here is the video: YouTube - Follett sack and Williams fumble recovery - Cal vs. Tenn 07
And here is the rule:
"If a Team B player contacts the passer or ball after forward movement begins and the ball leaves the passers hand, a forward pass is ruled regardless of where the ball strikes the ground or a player (A.R.
2-19-2-I)."
To me, it's clear that Ainge's forward throwing motion had JUST begun, and regardless of where the ball landed, it should be incomplete.
Like I said at the beginning, it doesn't matter. Cal won fair and square. However, two of the refs in our game called the Oklahoma-Oregon game last year.
Have fun.