About the Gaffney play.....

#1

volfanecs

The Last Fulmerite
Joined
Sep 16, 2007
Messages
3,051
Likes
762
#1
Hello to my friends @VN. You know I rarely post, but this question is driving me crazy. Did anyone other than myself, see the false start on the FL running back. He took at least a full step on the same play that Gaffney "scored".
 
#9
#9
I am surprised you guys want to talk about the Gaffney play any more at all. It was a decade ago.
 
#12
#12
That play still makes me ill. Didnt it turn out that his uncle or some relation was an official that day?
I don't mean to beat a dead horse here.
 
#21
#21
the thing that was puzzling to me was that it seems like I remember the ESPN night crew all AGREEING with the call. I was at the game live, so it seemed much easier to tell that it was definitely NOT a catch. But when I got home and started watching the ESPN night crew, they seemed to mostly agree that it was technically a TD.

My question is...was it technically a TD? How could that be? He essentially tried to catch the ball and then dropped it.

What most people don't remember though, is that the play happened on like 2nd or 3rd down. That PLAY was not the end of the game type deal. It's conceivable that FL would have scored on the next play.
 
#22
#22
The thing that got me about the play is that if you watch the replay, the Side Judge that is standing there signaling touchdown is shielded and there is no way he could possibly see the ball at the instant he signals TD.

I don't know whether it was a TD or not . . . but there was no way that guy had a good look.
 
#23
#23
The thing that got me about the play is that if you watch the replay, the Side Judge that is standing there signaling touchdown is shielded and there is no way he could possibly see the ball at the instant he signals TD.

I don't know whether it was a TD or not . . . but there was no way that guy had a good look.
yeah I think I remember that angle. It appeared that the side judge who signaled for TD sort of "assumed" that because it hit Gaffney in the chest, he was going to catch it -- but he dropped it and of course there was no replay or anything at that time.
 
#24
#24
yeah I think I remember that angle. It appeared that the side judge who signaled for TD sort of "assumed" that because it hit Gaffney in the chest, he was going to catch it -- but he dropped it and of course there was no replay or anything at that time.
Not only that . . . when he signaled TD, he didn't just raise his arms, he pumped them up and down a few times as if to say he was REALLY sure it was a TD even though the ball was on the ground.
 

VN Store



Back
Top