Sunshine Pumpers and NegaVols

They don't believe in realism on VN.

They believe you can fire 3 coaches "with cause" for paying players, that your Chancellor and President can say they were "shocked by the extent and number of people involved" in paying players...... and the NCAA won't respond with bowl sanctions and scholarship sanctions.

Apparently, they've no idea that "Institutional Control" means keeping things from getting to the point where your President and Chancellor are "shocked by the extent and the number of people involved."

It's utterly ridiculous not to expect the NCAA to HAMMER us because we self reported a large number of violations and it seems...... I've no direct knowledge, only what I've seen rumored..... that more and more interviews are yielding more and more violations. We can all assume, given how the SEC works..... if the lid has come completely off...... we're screwed front, back, and twice.

Yes, and when it happens? You and I will at least be less shocked and outraged than most.

Reactions: 82_VOL_83
Appeal to Authority can be a logical error. True.

But that's a coin with two sides. Ignoring the authority of subject matter experts is perhaps an even more common and costly logical fallacy. It is what happens when a person who doesn't know what they're talking about believes they know as much about a subject as an actual authority figure with experience in the field.

For instance, a guy named Bearded believing he knows more about football than Jeremy Pruitt just because Pruitt failed as a head coach in his first go. Or trying to convince another person that they shouldn't give any credence to the AD's experience and knowledge, simply because a thing out there exists called "appeal to authority logical fallacy."

Playing the logical fallacy card every single time you see a person defer to the experience and knowledge of a person in authority, well, that's just idiocy trying to masquerade as insightfulness.

But you be you, Bearded.