What was it like attending UT in 1998?

I was a freshman in 1998. Unbelievable first year on campus. I went to 11 of the 13 games. I spent Labor Day weekend with friends and my brother in the Tri-cities to play golf and watch the Syracuse game. I also missed the UGA game- tickets were in demand.

My brother had just moved to Atlanta for work, so I had a place to stay for the game at USC and for the SECCG. Great stories about trips to Auburn and to Tempe.

The UF and Arkansas games are obviously the two that stand out the most. We were in the upper deck student section for UF and made it to the field in minutes. Eventually made it to our dorm after the celebration, re-grouped and then went to the Strip. The sidewalks on the Strip were overcrowded, and the police had to monitor it. At one point, I believe I remember a street sweeper or washer forcing people back. I fell asleep at 5 a.m. that night. My parents were visiting for the Arkansas game, and I recall how cold and wet it was.

Back in the late 90's/early 2000's, the UT campus was rocking during the fall. There was always a good football game to look forward to, which made it go by fast. I loved Fall Friday's because you get your classes over early and then plan out either your eve before a home game or your travel for an away game.

My freshman year, soon after Peyton announced he was coming back to school for his senior year, I saw him outside my dorm. Ran outside to grab his autograph (it was apparent already that he was gonna be famous), but being a dumb 18 year kid I had nothing for him to sign, so he signed a dollar bill. I spent it 3 hours later on beer or chicken wings. In short, college was awesome but likely not much different than most other years. A few Saturdays every fall were legendary though.