If Pat Summitt were the AD, would Holly still have a job?

Let’s imagine that Pat didn’t develop dementia and pass away, but decided to retire and take the AD job after one of the many openings. Assuming she gave Holly the chance to take her place as Head Coach of the Lady Vol Basketball Team, would she have let Holly go by now?

I say yes, she would have fired her maybe two years ago.

Most interesting you have a good point.

Lordy, how many different threads do we need that all make the same point? Perhaps, someone should start a unifying thread entitled, "how many different ways can you say Holly should be fired?"
If you don't like the threads on out dislike for Warlick as a coach, I'm pretty sure you have the choice not to read them

Reactions: Darth_Vol
We will never know for sure but I think the championship team with Parker, Hornbuckle, Anosiki, Bobbit, and Augustus would still be a championship contender. However, that was a super team, featuring one of the all-time greats in the women's game.

However, on most possessions, the LVs are not waiting for the shot clock to wind down. It does happen on some possessions for sure but, against KY, for example, they were trying to push pace. Even in their dismal opening quarter, they had wide open shots and some lay-ups and could not hit anything.

Everyone focuses on turnovers, but this team lives and dies with their shooting percentage; at one point against, KY, they were shooting 25% from the field and were under 50% at the line. They closed much better but in that "cold" period they were getting lots of makeable shots. They had the same problems last year; Jackson is (though I hope she breaks the pattern) starting the season shooting really well and steadily got worse over conference play. Much of the team followed the same pattern. To me, that says there is some problem in the system but I think it is more on the training side than the game management side.