Thoughts from the 2018 Soccer season. (long)

StrangeVol

Disclaimer: I am not a soccer expert. I have never played or coached the game. I am simply a fan of the game in general and our program in particular. It is not my intent here to criticize players or coaches but to offer my personal analysis and commentary.

Was that a fun season or what? :)

We got treated to one of the best soccer season ever at UT. Made it to the Elite Eight (quarterfinals) for the first time ever. Of course, we had a bit of bad luck landing in the overall #1 seed Stanford's bracket and having to face them and their 44 game winning streak on their home pitch. The result, two – nil, was not a surprise to anyone, but I do think we gave a reasonably good account of ourselves.

So now, we move on to the next season, in which I sincerely hope we can maintain and grow our program's strength and success. Seniors Meghan Flynn, Danielle Marcano, Rylie O'Keefe, MacKenzie Gouner, Bunny Shaw, Anna Bialczak, and Shea Yanez have used up their time with us and I know we'll miss them every one. On top of that, we lose a heck of a lot of talent.

However, the cupboard is not bare by any means. We still have rising seniors Katie Cousins, Maya Neal, MA Vignola, and Salera Jordan along with a hand full of experienced underclassmen like Erin Gilroy, Wrenne French, and McKinley Burkett. Mix in some talented freshmen and we have at least the potential for a solid soccer team. These are our newest Lady Vol team members: Tennessee Soccer Signs Seven - University of Tennessee Athletics

In the past, as well as this past season, we were primarily a “direct” team in terms of our style of play. So what do I mean when I say “direct” style? Simply stated lots of long passes into our opponent's half of the pitch trying to give our forwards/strikers a chance to quickly get on the ball and launch a shot.