Robertson Earns Spot on Outland Trophy Watch List

UT Release

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – Tennessee senior offensive lineman Jashon Robertson has been named to the watch list for the 2017 Outland Trophy as announced by the Football Writers Association of America on Thursday.

The Outland Trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s top interior lineman by the FWAA All-America Committee. The winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

Robertson is among 81 players selected to the pre-season watch list and is one of 11 players from the Southeastern Conference to be named to the list. The Nashville native has started 34 games during his Tennessee career and was a key part of a UT offensive line that paved the way to record-breaking offensive numbers in 2016. The Vols set program records in points scored (473) and touchdowns (63) last season and won their third consecutive bowl game by defeating Nebraska, 38-24, in the Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl.

The 2017 Outland Trophy watch list is comprised of 24 offensive tackles, 21 defensive tackles, 20 centers and 16 offensive guards. The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Wed, Nov. 15Six days later, three finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 72nd Outland Trophy – named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced live on ESPN at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thurs., Dec. 7.

The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 23 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. The complete watch list for the Outland Trophy can be seen HERE.

1 Comment

You need to register or login to leave a comment


Facebook Comments