DJ Durkin in trouble

You stupidly push kids to their limit, have a player die, and then get paid 5+ million after nearly keeping your job

Crazy world we live in.
I know I'll get the bye felicia response to this but I'm just about done w/ it. No prominent program is exempt from the big business approach to sports, where the ends justify the means. The pattern is obvious and I'm old enough to not give a toot. The whole Haslam-assery saga surrounding Butch/Currie/etc is a fishbone in my craw.

I mean seriously, we admire/hate coaches and AD's but they don't do much w/o the power brokers (Mass Effects reference) giving the nod and the deep pockets couldn't care less what a poor ridgerunner like me says. I guess it's fun to banter around but in the end, despite all my rage I'm still just a rat in a cage.

I got real curious about Jordan's death, and I'm no doctor, but it sounds like it just wasn't all that hot outside when he got hurt. Easy to criticize, and I guess they should know to be afraid of heat stress, but I don't think I would have seen that coming. After the fact everybody is oh-so-much-smarter.

Whatever you all found in the report that made sense, I missed it. I remember running 10X 110 yard wind sprints in HS, and really that is not a long process. Was there more? That's all I read.

Last edited:
I got real curious about Jordan's death, and I'm no doctor, but it sounds like it just wasn't all that hot outside when he got hurt. Easy to criticize, and I guess they should know to be afraid of heat stress, but I don't think I would have seen that coming. After the fact everybody is oh-so-much-smarter.

Whatever you all found in the report that made sense, I missed it. I remember running 10X 110 yard wind sprints in HS, and really that is not a long process. Was their more? That's all I read.