Questions about paying players

onevol74

It appears the schools are now going to pay the players based on a formula concerning the cost of attendance at each school. Since the players can now unionize and the schools have an employer-employee relationship, could the players have a claim against the schools using the formula as collusion? Could they demand pay dependent on talent?

Also, what is standing in the way of the players demanding sign-on bonuses as in a free market? This would make the Albert Means situation legal and the NCAA rules irrelevant.

Will the players be able to file US Income taxes and earn significant refunds due to earned income credit?

I'm no lawyer, but I don't think Universities are putting players on the payroll. Instead, schools are now simply allowed to adjust the value of their athletic scholarships to cover the "full cost of attendance." So the student-athletes' stipends will now include enough to cover costs like transportation, property insurance and storage, etc.

But it's still a scholarship, just like it has always been. Not a paycheck. As I understand it.

It appears the schools are now going to pay the players based on a formula concerning the cost of attendance at each school. Since the players can now unionize and the schools have an employer-employee relationship, could the players have a claim against the schools using the formula as collusion? Could they demand pay dependent on talent?

Also, what is standing in the way of the players demanding sign-on bonuses as in a free market? This would make the Albert Means situation legal and the NCAA rules irrelevant.

Will the players be able to file US Income taxes and earn significant refunds due to earned income credit?

AU and UA already pay a sign on bonus.:)

This is a UT forum. Probably need to take any NCAA pay for play questions to the experts ...Bammer.

Nope...but grew up in Hixson till high school...them Soddy-Girls...Lord have MERCY!

Congrats!