This Saturday

DEFENDTHISHOUSE

I was born the son of Jerry McKinley Ladd of Kingston Tennessee in 1975. I have watched or listened to UT games with my dad since I could walk. My real first memories are of the 1982 UT vs Bama game. I remember jumping for joy listening to John Ward announce that the Volunteers had beaten the Crimson tide. Pure unbridled joy. My dad disliked Alabama with a pure passion. A passon that would be passed to me with the streak from 86-94. Little did we know we'd have to move to Birmingham in 1985 after Tennessee Forging steel in Harriman closed its doors. My dad being a 3rd generation steel worker by trade, and me the 4th.

Dad and I shared many Tennessee Saturday's over the next few decades, through all the ups and down of family life and work life, the one constant was Tennessee football.

From Cockrell to Manning to Worley we never missed a Saturday, even if we could only talk on the phone before the game, then at halftime, and after the game.

My dad used to tell me that it didn't take a lot to be a Florida gator or a Georgia bulldog, or the Crimson tide. But, men gave their lives being Tennessee Volunteers. That our name meant something, unlike others who used mascot names or such.

My dad died this past Monday after a sever bout with leukemia. I miss my dad terribly and it will get worse this Saturday. The sinking feeling only gets deeper as Saturday gets closer. I do know that he will be watching this Saturday from the best seat available. Here's hoping we can finally break the gator streak.

I've seen others here post about their fathers and the shared love of UT football. I would always call my dad after reading those heart wrenching posts, now I'm posting my own, about my dad. Guys and gals, call your dad and tell them you love them. Time is our greatest enemy.

Go Vols from me and my dad. :clapping:

Reactions: 63 people
I am so sorry for your loss and want to thank you for sharing this story with us.