Tennessee as a basketball state

TennesseeRhett

I mentioned this years ago when I was a student at UT (04-08), but I am often surprised at how many teams from our state make the tourney. In addition to UT, you often see Belmont, Vandy, Memphis, Austin Peay, Lipscomb, ETSU and MTSU make the dance, to say nothing of the women’s teams. I believe my senior year there were 6 teams from our state in the men’s tournament, which was tied with california and indiana for the most that year. Yet you never hear about basketball in Tennessee the way you do in other states, but our borders host many strong and proud programs, and that’s pretty cool. I bleed orange and always wish for UT success above all else, but as a Tennessean I really do enjoy seeing all programs from the state do well.

Reactions: 10 people
I mentioned this years ago when I was a student at UT (04-08), but I am often surprised at how many teams from our state make the tourney. In addition to UT, you often see Belmont, Vandy, Memphis, Austin Peay, Lipscomb, ETSU and MTSU make the dance, to say nothing of the women’s teams. I believe my senior year there were 6 teams from our state in the men’s tournament, which was tied with california and indiana for the most that year. Yet you never hear about basketball in Tennessee the way you do in other states, but our borders host many strong and proud programs, and that’s pretty cool. I bleed orange and always wish for UT success above all else, but as a Tennessean I really do enjoy seeing all programs from the state do well.

I've posted before that I'd like to see an early season tournament with 8 of the state's teams. Volunteer Classic would be a good name for it... Vandy and Tiger High might object though.

The baseball team had 3 other state teams in town this weekend for the Tri-Star Classic.

IMO having other strong basketball teams in-state isn't a threat and in fact helps all of the programs by promoting the sport.

Reactions: 2 people